The Varangian Way

Century Media Records Ltd
Release date
15 Jun 2007
Running length
8 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 To Holmgard And Beyond 5:19 70,176
2 A Portage To The Unknown 4:50 54,356
3 Cursed Be Iron 5:03 50,066
4 Fields Of Gold 4:34 50,017
5 In The Court Of Jarisleif 3:17 47,890
6 Five Hundred And One 6:18 42,527
7 The Dnieper Rapids 5:20 41,624
8 Miklagard Overture 8:18 41,707

About this album

The Varangian Way is the second full-length album from Finnish band, Turisas and was released in 2007. It is a concept album that tells the story of a group of Scandinavians traveling the river routes of medieval Russia, through Ladoga, Novgorod and Kiev, down to the Byzantine Empire.

Other releases

Listening Trend

87,920listeners all time
1,871,164scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • DubhSidhe

    Definitely my favorite album from Turisas.

    22 Jan 2:42pm Reply
  • Karaouq16


    29 Apr 2014 Reply
  • gabberhardcore

    incredibly good

    15 Nov 2012 Reply
  • monisiowaty

    I favor it over Battle Metal. [4]

    8 Sep 2012 Reply
  • Chemin

    I just realized, 3 years later, that I misspelled Battle Metal as Battle Magic in my last post. That's a damn album by Bal-Sagoth... I'm allowed to facepalm myself for that. I still stand by my claim though, this album is their best, no contest.

    8 Sep 2012 Reply
  • PinkFloydrulez

    why did i ever buy this

    28 Jun 2012 Reply
  • vzakharov

    great album

    20 Feb 2011 Reply
  • Megadieftw

    Fantastic album. I favor it over Battle Metal. [3] its beautiful...

    7 Nov 2010 Reply
  • kvanderwyk

    So awesome, makes me want to jump on a ship and sail around and discover new worlds. :D

    4 Oct 2010 Reply
  • Jamesismynamo

    Fantastic album. I favor it over Battle Metal. [2]

    5 Aug 2010 Reply
  • jesse6669

    great album

    18 Oct 2009 Reply
  • sevenlee7

    Damn good album!!!

    20 Sep 2009 Reply
  • Chemin

    The best album by Turisas, by far. Much more mature and epic. And 'Battle Magic' was an awesome album indeed. Might take a few more listens to get "into" this album, but it's totally worth it.

    12 Aug 2009 Reply
  • StickyFinga

    Only discovered them recently, this album is indeed amazing.

    29 Jul 2009 Reply
  • radio-tractore

    this album is epic, I want my own drakkar!

    13 Jul 2009 Reply
  • Argaalofthemyst

    Wow... This is so different to 'Battle Metal'. I had been told that it was different but I wasn't expecting it to be -this- different. Will definitely take a while to get used to but I'm liking it a lot so far.

    11 Jun 2009 Reply
  • SynnieGates

    They should've had 2-3 more songs. 8 songs isn't enough! ><

    8 Apr 2009 Reply
  • Slorafossen

    Too much clean vocals

    19 Mar 2009 Reply
  • Jd_Jd_Jd

    This album outstrips the 'Battle Metal' album. So epic!

    15 Mar 2009 Reply
  • DemonCashew

    So fucking epic, bscly.

    21 Feb 2009 Reply
  • All 48 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners