Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


There are at least three artists called Troyka:

1) A Jazz Trio from England.
2) A pop/rock trio from Rochester, NY
3) A progressive rock trio from Edmonton, Alberta.

1) Jazz trio from England, made up of Chris Montague (guitars), Kit Downes (organ) and Joshua Blackmore (drums). They released their debut self-titled album on 29 June 2009 through Edition Records. They were described as “ones to watch in 2009” by Jazzwise magazine and the album received a very favourable review from BBC Music and four star reviews in The Observer Music Monthly and The Guardian.

2) Pop/rock trio from Rochester, NY, made up of Ian Mitchell (guitar), Neil Dreger (bass) and Mike Reed (drums). Their album Turn On Your Life was released in 2009.

3) Progressive Rock trio from Edmonton, Alberta - though local collector Tim Holden tells me no one can remember much about them now. The album was recorded at Round Sound, Edmonton, Alberta. The band took care of the arrangements, words and music themselves. Most of the tracks - Early Morning, Life’s OK, Rub-A-Dub-Dub Troyka In A Tub, Dear Margaret (Malgasia) and Troyka Finale are progressive rock style instrumentals. Another Rolling Down The Back Road has a sorta guitar freakout and Go East Young Man Beautiful Pink Eyes culminates in a sorta guitar jam. Certainly not for everyone but if guitar-driven instrumentation is your scene this could be for you. Certainly an unusual album. Often compared to Gun and Warpig.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

3,241listeners all time
34,524scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Astral-Blood

    Yeah, very good album. Love that it seems to be a concept album about a virus that turns humans into birds, haha.

    1 Apr 11:20pm Reply
  • isaacashe

    Ornithophobia is simply incredible.

    28 Jan 9:29pm Reply
  • bobgreen623

    Wonderful. Saw them last night at our jazz festival and didn't know what to expect as they were so far removed sonically from any of the other artists, I think they alienated some of the more hardcore jazz purists. I started off intrigued and ended up liking them a lot. The album sounds great

    17 Sep 2012 Reply
  • stefanFP

    Jazz trio FTW!!!! [2]

    1 Sep 2012 Reply
  • Color_Of_Sound

    A stunner album from the canadian power-trio !!!

    25 Mar 2012 Reply
  • barkbox

    Troyka (prog). It's jazz too! -> 'Life's O.K.'

    3 Mar 2012 Reply
  • ZosoGravity

    Troyka - Troyka (prog)

    14 Sep 2011 Reply
  • Isoliom

    So now we have another Troyka that sounds great too!! Rare thing when both of the band sharing same name can share same level of awesomeness!

    26 Oct 2010 Reply
  • lunarmountains

    Troyka - Troyka !

    19 May 2010 Reply
  • le_dzedaj

    This is such underrated band, they're music is so awesome :D Just love them

    27 Jan 2009 Reply

Top Listeners