Tracy Chapman

Elektra Records/ATG
Release date
13 Sep 2005
Running length
11 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Talkin' Bout a Revolution 2:39 165,435
2 Fast Car 4:56 412,827
3 Across the Lines 3:24 87,848
4 Behind the Wall 1:49 75,881
5 Baby Can I Hold You 3:14 217,756
6 Mountains O' Things 4:39 59,955
7 She's Got Her Ticket 3:56 89,507
8 Why? 2:06 55,951
9 For My Lover 3:12 96,825
10 If Not Now... 3:01 52,266
11 For You 3:37 62,348

About this album

Tracy Chapman is the self-titled debut album by singer/songwriter Tracy Chapman, released in 1988. It hit #1 on both the US & UK album charts.

The album was critically acclaimed and helped to launch the 1990s female singer-songwriter movement, which included artists like Tori Amos and Sarah McLachlan. The first single “Fast Car” peaked at #5 in the US and #6 in the UK. The second single “Talkin’ Bout a Revolution” reached #75, but received much airplay and also charted in the Adult Contemporary and Modern Rock charts amongst others. “Baby Can I Hold You”, the third single, only reached #48 - however, the song was a #2 hit for Boyzone in 1997.

Tracy Chapman was awarded the Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Folk Album and “Fast Car” gained Chapman an award for Best Female Pop Vocal Performance at the 31st Grammy Awards in early 1989.

In 1989, the album was rated number 10 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the “100 Greatest Albums of the 80’s.” In 2003, the album was ranked number 261 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

Other releases

Listening Trend

393,931listeners all time
4,831,945scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Lowbacca

    still sounds fresh. amazing.

    18 Oct 1:28pm Reply
  • Helawolf

    Fast Car... timeless. As old as me.

    12 Mar 10:08pm Reply
  • katti85

    24 Jan 4:50pm Reply
  • abbi98

    Why does is say it was released in 2005 at the top - nearly 20 years after it was actually released in 1988?

    27 Jan 2013 Reply
  • FeverishVisions

    great album. simple and beautiful.

    21 Jan 2012 Reply
  • tomvecc

    the first-the best

    4 Jan 2011 Reply
  • notoriousGirl

    best album, soooooo good

    18 Mar 2010 Reply
  • iandavies65

    cant stop playing it love it

    23 Dec 2009 Reply
  • tinymami

    Remember the Tin Man - the greatest song ever written! Tracy is so amazing and talented. Songs w/ so much meaning ...

    27 Oct 2009 Reply
  • gizmoUK

    Bought it almost 20 years ago,still never tire of it,an amazing album from an amazing lady,see her live if you ever get the chance to,awesome show.

    9 Jul 2009 Reply
  • luscious-lea

    abslutelly luv tracy chapmans music... have done for years and will do for years to come yet!!! amazin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    26 Apr 2009 Reply
  • Soepkip352

    Mitya wrote: October 2007 hey label dimwits, remove (LP Version) from the track names!!!! --- agreed

    9 Apr 2009 Reply
  • Soepkip352

    In your library (603 plays). Hmm love it!

    9 Apr 2009 Reply
  • hawk1984-3

    get it streamable!!

    23 Feb 2009 Reply
  • losena

    Woooo !!!!! is biutifol,very very good.

    16 Dec 2008 Reply
  • lowfski

    one of my favorite albums ever

    2 Dec 2008 Reply
  • annyR


    19 Feb 2008 Reply
  • Mitya

    hey label dimwits, remove (LP Version) from the track names!!!!

    21 Oct 2007 Reply

Listening Now

Top Listeners