Love and Its Opposite

Release date
17 May 2010
Running length
10 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Oh, The Divorces! 4:17 12,472
2 Long White Dress 3:54 6,463
3 Hormones 3:07 6,433
4 Kentish Town 3:32 5,944
5 Why Does the Wind? 5:01 7,988
6 You Are A Lover 3:10 6,234
7 Singles Bar 3:28 5,653
8 Come On Home To Me 3:33 5,225
9 Late In The Afternoon 3:21 5,630
10 Swimming 4:20 5,367

About this album

After an 18-year career with partner Ben Watt in best-selling alt-pop duo Everything But the Girl (1982-2000), followed by a self-imposed hiatus to start a family, Tracey Thorn re-emerged in 2007 to a wave of critical acclaim with the glittering autobiographical folk-disco of Out Of The Woods. It was her first strictly solo album since 1982’s indie classic A Distant Shore.

Now she’s back with another album: the starkly beautiful Love and Its Opposite on partner Ben Watt’s Strange Feeling Records.

The new album features ten tracks, eight originals plus covers of Lee Hazlewood’s “Come On Home to Me” and “You Are a Lover” by The Unbending Trees.

01. Oh, The Divorces!
02. Long White Dress
03. Hormones
04. Kentish Town
05. Why Does the Wind?
06. You Are A Lover
07. Singles Bar
08. Come On Home To Me
09. Late In The Afternoon
10. Swimming

The album will be released May 17 2010 (May 18, North America). A free download of the album’s opening track, Oh, The Divorces! is currently available @

Other releases

Listening Trend

12,552listeners all time
228,706scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • upyano

    really outstanding. A collection of stories, real life, sung by her Voice. She gets better every album she releases, I suppose.

    24 May 2010 Reply

Top Listeners