Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Toyan began his career in 1974, deejaying on Kingston’s sound systems, such as Socialist Roots and Romantic HiFi. He recorded his debut single, “Disco Pants” in the late 1970s for producer Don Mais. He went on to work extensively with Joseph Hoo Kim and Jah Thomas, resulting in a string of hits including “Girls Nowadays”, “Kill No Man”, “John Tom”, and “Talk of the Town”, as well as combination hits with The Mighty Diamonds (“Pretty Woman”), Badoo (“Rocking the 5000”), and Freddie McGregor (“Roots Man Skanking”). In 1981 he joined Henry “Junjo” Lawes’ Volcano Sound system, and toured Canada. With Lawes, he recorded the album How the West Was Won, which is regarded as his best work, and went on to produce his own work and that of others such as Billy Boyo and Anthony Johnson. He toured the United Kingdom with the Jah Prophecy band and performed in Jamaica alongside Dennis Brown.

He was murdered in Jamaica in 1991.


* How The West Was Won (1981) Greensleeves
* Toyan (1982) J&L
* Superstar Yellowman Has Arrived With Toyan (1982) Joe Gibbs (with Yellowman)
* DJ Clash (1982) Volcano/Greensleeves (with Nicodemus)
* Spar With Me (1982) Jah Guidance
* Ghetto Man Skank (1983) Silver Camel
* DJ Daddy (1983) Upfront
* Nice Time (1983) Jam Rock/Pre (with Triston Palma)
* Every Posse Want Me (1983) Live & Learn
* Murder (1983) Vista Sounds (with Tipper Lee & Johnny Slaughter)
* Hot Bubble Gum (1984) Power House


Top Albums

Listening Trend

13,918listeners all time
70,552scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners