Release date
9 Nov 2010
Running length
9 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Refugee 3:22 192,177
2 Here Comes My Girl 4:25 136,352
3 Even the Losers 3:59 129,531
4 Shadow Of A Doubt (A Complex Kid) 4:25 22,317
5 Century City 3:43 21,027
6 Don't Do Me Like That 2:42 166,448
7 You Tell Me 4:34 19,364
8 What Are You Doin' In My Life? 3:26 17,036
9 Louisiana Rain 5:53 19,069

About this album

Damn the Torpedoes is the third album by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers released in 1979 by MCA Records. It was released to commercial success and critical acclaim becoming the band’s breakthrough album. In 2003, the album was ranked number 313 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

Damn the Torpedoes was the Heartbreakers first for MCA Records. Their old label, Shelter, had been sold to MCA. Petty struggled to legally detach himself from MCA, resulting in his bankruptcy. In the end the record company backed down, and he negotiated a deal that allowed him to release his recordings on the new Backstreet Records label, manufactured and distributed by MCA. The album was recorded at Sound City in Van Nuys and Cherokee Studios in Hollywood. The title is a reference to a famous quote by Admiral David Farragut: “Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!”.

Damn the Torpedoes was released in October of 1979. The album was a breakthrough for Petty and the Heartbreakers. It was his first top 10 album rising to #2 hit (for seven weeks and kept from #1 by Pink Floyd’s The Wall) on the Billboard’s Albums chart. It yielded two songs that made the top-fifteen on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart, “Don’t Do Me Like That” (#10) and “Refugee” (#15). It was a commercial success as well.

Other releases

Listening Trend

50,237listeners all time
363,964scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners