Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Today I Caught The Plague


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Ottawa, Canada (2007 – present)

Since it’s creation in the winter months of 2007 Ottawa, Ontario’s Today I Caught the Plague has worked endlessly to produce the most honest representations of musical vision they’re collectively capable of. The result: Energetic art reflective of a wide range of sonic expression. The songs are largely recognizable by the aggressive undertones of their hardcore and metal influences, while melodically and rhythmically balanced by the many varying genres which have impacted each individual artist. From the inspirations of early classical music through to the differing examples of today’s modern art the group leaves no musical idea unentertained. Simply stated, they create only with self-set limitations, bringing their music through to conception with uninhibited thoughts.

The roster and consequent sound of Today I Caught the Plague consists of Dave Journeaux on Vocals, Ben Davis & Steve Rennie on guitar, Matt Young …boards, Eric Stone on bass and Mike Ieradi on Drums. Friends and acquaintances before colleagues, the group shows a distinct sense of camaraderie in all their interactions both inside and outside the band.

In addition to their professional commitment to creating original music, Today I Caught the Plague strategically align themselves to infiltrate the scene with a constantly evolving stage show and the implementation of both researched and experienced knowledge regarding the inner workings of today’s music industry. Their dedication is almost perverse in nature as the art form has quite literally become their hectic lives.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

3,105listeners all time
81,644scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Fatally6Yours

    Seems best to think of Today I Caught the Plague and The Kindred as completely separate bands.

    24 Feb 2014 Reply
  • GrindWar

    Guns_N_Gravy of course NOT! they've changed their's name to The Kindred but befor they were known as Today I Caught the Plague and release an album Lore under that name, so it must be Today I Caught the Plague.

    6 Feb 2014 Reply
  • Guns_N_Gravy

    Everyone, please use the misspelt artist tool on the right side of the page to suggest this page should be merged with The Kindred.

    17 Dec 2013 Reply
  • bombtrack

    Apparently they changed their name and got signed to Sumerian.

    3 Jul 2013 Reply
  • longpoke

    Rody told me to check these guys out. [2]

    23 Oct 2012 Reply
  • knight_88

    They're unique. [2]

    2 Sep 2012 Reply
  • ChokitoBranco

    Great album Lore is, nothing more to say.

    3 Jun 2012 Reply
  • pineapplemaster

    "Tempting Haiwa" sounds like a bonus track from Deconstruction by the Devin Townsend Project.

    21 May 2012 Reply
  • mledkov

    They're unique.

    13 May 2012 Reply
  • JonteJH

    Awesome band, horrible name :/

    4 May 2012 Reply
  • zabersuv

    the vocals are fuckin phenomenal

    29 Mar 2012 Reply
  • Discoballpaul

    Only just heard this band today! OH MY FUCKING GOD!! :O Love that shit!

    16 Feb 2012 Reply
  • joemetal1

    I miss the 'duet' vocals from the EP. Also the gang vocals are rubbish. However the album is still good despite these flaws

    4 Dec 2011 Reply
  • Hammerheart15

    Just started listening since they're opening for Devin Townsend next month. Very impressed!

    19 Nov 2011 Reply
  • Fatty3

    I agree with freepr0n

    1 Nov 2011 Reply
  • Wuselwaldfreund

    they sound great, the vocals are amazing, so is the instrumentation and the production in general

    13 Sep 2011 Reply
  • GreenFlame16

    Have been listening to Lore, great that the Band shares their amazing music! I like the full-length, but it sounds different from the masterpiece EP, i have some thoughts, but may be i should listen a bit more before commenting, still haven't got into it. Only thing i can say atm that it's a good record! =)

    1 Aug 2011 Reply
  • chizzledot

    New album is pro. Definitely a step forward from their EP. :D

    7 Jul 2011 Reply
  • Scr3wfaCe

    по мне такая музычка :)

    6 Jul 2011 Reply
  • VerbTheNoun

    I WANT MY GODDAMN PREORDER ALREADYYY. I need all the lyrics. ;(

    16 Jun 2011 Reply
  • All 99 shouts

Top Listeners