Release date
30 Mar 2006
Running length
8 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
Angelique 5:46 20,532
Aode 0:00 170
Poppaea 5:46 31,180
Bacchante 5:50 41,589
Cassandra 3:45 70,262
Lorelei 5:36 61,589
Siren 7:29 57,471
Venus 4:53 75,348

About this album

Aégis is the third music album of Norwegian metal band Theatre of Tragedy, and the last album of their musical period defined by gothic stylings and Early Modern English lyrics.
While still clearly within the bounds of gothic metal, Aégis differed from most other examples of the genre and Theatre of Tragedy’s earlier work in having a far mellower tone. This was exemplified in that although the songs feature alternating and occasionally overlapping ‘Beauty and the Beast’ male and female vocals, the male vocals are no longer delivered in a death grunt, but in a deep, echoed voice. Distorted electric guitars are also given far less prominence within the music, with more prominence given to piano.
As with Theatre of Tragedy’s previous albums, the lyrics are written in Early Modern English, some of which is close to incomprehensible for those not familiar with the language, even native speakers of modern English. For example, from Angélique: “‘Vaunt! - Devil tyne - Wadst thou wane fore’ermae?” The subject matter is drawn from a range of European folklore: Venus is from Roman legends, Aœde, Cassandra, Bacchante and Siren are drawn from Greek mythology, while Lorelei refers to a Nix from German stories.

Other releases

Listening Trend

107,922listeners all time
1,184,171scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • fabricioscabbia

    The right writing is Aégis

    18 Apr 2014 Reply
  • Kytherae

    Still as good as almost a decade ago! <3

    5 Dec 2013 Reply
  • astraealice


    6 Mar 2013 Reply
  • crownanchor


    23 Feb 2013 Reply
  • lsakural

    Pure magic

    29 Nov 2012 Reply
  • bodomkeyboards

    This is a perfect album.

    17 Sep 2012 Reply
  • henriquee_t88 didn't accept "Aégis" as it was and made the name look all messed up. It was A@:´egis or something like that.

    26 Aug 2012 Reply
  • Arsalber

    israelsm, +1

    23 May 2012 Reply
  • israelsm

    This is a beautiful and wonderful album. This is the best of Theatre of Tragedy.

    25 Apr 2012 Reply
  • FolkBlackDoom

    It's just a masterpiece<33333

    15 Mar 2012 Reply
  • annushka_wesley

    This is the greatest album of this band!!!

    15 Nov 2011 Reply
  • hplucas

    AOEDE <3

    8 Sep 2011 Reply
  • MikeTheory


    12 Aug 2011 Reply
  • Sharon_55

    Their best. Just beautiful.

    11 Aug 2011 Reply
  • BurningRemnant

    The correct that is Aégis but doesn't scrobble all the tracks that way. I verified on ten occasions at least, but Lorelei always gets scrobbled as being from the Aégis album. I tagged a random song identically as I have tagged Lorelei myself and it does the same mistake. Besides when I'm looking for this album in iTunes or winamp library, it never tells me it is tagged differently. The problem lies within the software, but I have never encountered someting like this before. Any opinions?

    31 Jul 2011 Reply
  • deadcookiez

    @dschr it means people are clueless and/or don't care about proper tagging.

    9 Mar 2011 Reply
  • dschr

    Never heard of this album from TOT and don't know most of the songs on it:-) Double the listeners as the correctly tagged album/tracks, which means what...?

    24 Oct 2010 Reply
  • Rushwheel

    и Assembly :)

    28 Aug 2010 Reply
  • Rushwheel


    28 Aug 2010 Reply
  • InvisibleDeath

    Их лучший альбом

    22 Jul 2010 Reply
  • All 60 shouts

Top Listeners