Fisherman's Blues

Release date
8 May 2006
Running length
22 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Fisherman's Blues (2006 - Remaster) 4:25 390
2 We Will Not Be Lovers (2006 Digital Remaster) 7:00 358
3 Strange Boat (2006 Digital Remaster) 3:05 329
4 World Party (Extended) 5:27 1,705
5 Sweet Thing (2006 Digital Remaster) 7:10 276
6 Jimmy Hickey's Waltz (2006 Digital Remaster) 2:05 293
7 And A Bang On The Ear (Extended) 9:12 1,672
8 Has Anybody Here Seen Hank? (2006 Digital Remaster) 3:17 224
9 When Will We Be Married (2006 Digital Remaster) 2:59 277
10 When Ye Go Away (2006 Digital Remaster) 3:44 252
11 Dunford's Fancy (2006 Digital Remaster) 1:04 214
12 The Stolen Child (2006 Digital Remaster) 6:53 220
13 This Land Is Your Land (2006 Digital Remaster) 0:54 237
1 Carolan's Welcome 2:51 2,470
2 Killing My Heart (Alternative) 3:53 1,391
3 You In The Sky 4:38 4,524
4 When Will We Be Married (1987 Recording) 2:40 533
5 Fisherman's Blues (Alternative) 5:48 1,656
6 Rattle My Bones And Shiver My Soul 2:38 1,751
7 Let Me Feel Holy Again 6:09 1,704
8 Meet Me At The Station 3:24 2,105
9 Soon As I Get Home 12:03 1,624

About this album

Fisherman’s Blues is the 1988 album by The Waterboys. The album marked a change in the sound of The Waterboys’, abandoning their earlier grandiose rock sound for a mixture of traditional Irish music, country music and rock and roll. Critics were divided on its release with some disappointed at the change of direction and others ranking it among The Waterboys’ best work. The album went on to become the Waterboys’ best selling album, despite reaching only number thirteen in the U.K. charts on release, and position seventy-six on the Billboard 200.

The history behind Fisherman’s Blues begins with Steve Wickham’s contribution to “The Pan Within” on the preceding Waterboys album This Is the Sea. Wickham joined the group officially in 1985 after This Is the Sea had been released. Mike Scott, The Waterboys’ leader, spent time in Dublin with Wickham, and moved to Ireland in 1986. That year The Waterboys performed “Fisherman’s Blues” on The Tube, which was the first time the new musical direction the band was taking was demonstrated.

The recording sessions for the album were lengthy and produced a great deal of music. The sessions began at Windmill Lane Studio in Dublin and lasted from January through March 1986. An additional session took place that December in San Francisco. From March to August 1987 The Waterboys were recording in Windmill Lane again. Scott moved to Galway and another year passed as the band recorded at Spiddal House, where Scott was living.

Other releases

Listening Trend

68,818listeners all time
521,898scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Swordfisherman

    Does anyone have Fisherman’s Box: The Complete Fisherman’s Blues Sessions 1986-1988 ? I think it really holds up after all these years! It's a bit like Dylan & The Band down in the basement of Big Pink.

    29 Oct 2013 Reply
  • metawirt

    Fucking remaster shite! Thank god I downloaded a copy of the remaster before buying it. After listening to the poor sound I bought the original 1988 UK-CD (used) via ebay...

    14 Apr 2012 Reply
  • maccablue666

    wow what a album love this great sounds ??????????

    28 Nov 2011 Reply
  • william_0191

    Love this album.

    23 May 2011 Reply
  • maccablue666


    30 Dec 2010 Reply
  • djaycee68

    Rediscovered this album, and perfect for hangover days after a good rough night out :)

    21 May 2009 Reply

    magical and beautifull

    7 Mar 2009 Reply
  • boxertrix

    Fantastic song.

    26 Dec 2008 Reply
  • captain_greg

    in 1989 a girl presented me this song on a tape. since that time technical devices changed and someday I lost this song. Happy to find him again....and I remember here

    7 Sep 2008 Reply

Top Listeners