Here's The Tender Coming

Release date
14 Sep 2009
Running length
13 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Because He Was A Bonny Lad 2:36 8,380
2 Sad February 4:36 6,712
3 Annachie Gordon 8:16 6,386
4 Lucky Gilchrist 4:52 6,954
5 The Testimony Of Patience Kershaw 4:05 3,071
6 Living By The Water 6:08 5,013
7 Where've Yer Bin Dick 0:46 1,875
8 Nobody Knew She Was There 5:53 4,830
9 Flowers Of The Town 3:05 4,481
10 Not Much Luck In Our House 0:47 4,599
11 At First She Starts 3:38 4,390
12 Here's The Tender Coming 6:07 4,934
13 Betsy Bell 4:13 3,025

About this album

The Unthank sisters’ third album brings a darker tinge to traditional folk songs. After the first two albums’ quartet lineup with few additional instruments (under the name Rachel Unthank And The Winterset), Here’s the Tender Coming launched the new format of The Unthanks. This involved, after the departure of Belinda O’Hooley for a solo and duo career, the addition of string quartet, brass and a lot more overdubs. The liner notes to this album refer to it as a move to a gentler emotional territory than the very dark The Bairns, but it is nevertheless an atmospheric, melancholy album full of extended rhapsodic versions of songs about lost love, isolation and unhappiness. All of which does not mean it is a miseryfest, or that its immediate reception as the best work yet by some of the most original musicians in Britain today was undeserved.

Other releases

Listening Trend

11,445listeners all time
170,930scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • littlerayofsuns

    Amazing, talented group. Will listen for hours. Thank you so much for the honour. love chrissy xxxx

    11 Sep 2010 Reply

Top Listeners