Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

The Twilight Sad


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Kilsyth, Glasgow, United Kingdom (2003 – present)

The Twilight Sad are an band from Kilsyth, Scotland formed in late 2003. The band is composed of James Alexander Graham (vocals), Andy MacFarlane (guitar/keyboards) and Mark Devine (drums). They have released three full-length albums: Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters (2007), Forget the Night Ahead (2009) and No One Can Ever Know (2012). Where their debut album mixed and with heavily delayed guitars and elements, their second album is more influenced by early . The band experienced a stylistic shift on their third album that replaced the wall of sound with analog synths in a style.

The band started up by playing a couple of gigs at the 13th Note in Glasgow, creating half hour-long pieces of music using guitars, bass, drums, theremin, tape loops from films and old folk/country songs, effects pedals, toy keyboards, thumb pianos, saws, computer games, and a lot of noise, in an attempt to try and discover a sound they could call their own and continue to develop. After these two shows, they rejected many gig offers, and became a more reclusive unit, spending any spare time they had in the studio focused on writing and sculpting away at new material.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

187,647listeners all time
3,697,461scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • thelionrampant

    Scotland Strong.

    23 May 2:00am Reply
  • radhe-

    su melancolía es sumamente envolvente

    12 Mar 12:18am Reply
  • RadioheadSnob

    The new Paisley Abbey recordings are exceptional.

    30 Jan 7:35pm Reply
  • benxander

    Good for the lead singer to keep his Scottish accent, instead of adopting the more common American English singing voice.

    26 Jan 1:41pm Reply
  • mmanzoni

    el acento escocés inolvidable.

    5 Jan 11:32am Reply
  • oldbirds

    thank god for the scottish accent

    20 Dec 2013 Reply
  • Selfsurprise

    @ OctopusGuy: I can't think of many bands in the shoegaze/indie spectrum that manage to maintain this level of near indisputable quality over their discography. Personal favourite's like Current 93, Roots Manuva and Genocide Organ aside (both bands of wildly differing scenes) I definitely know of no other band who garner such heartfelt respect from a surprisingly broad range of music fans as The Twilight Sad seem to.

    18 Dec 2013 Reply
  • Lilipuki


    14 Dec 2013 Reply
  • OctopusGuy

    I don't understand how a band can be this good.

    7 Nov 2013 Reply
  • Dreamglasses

    Yeah! Good!

    21 Aug 2013 Reply
  • blkguythatrock

    definitely need to get muh plays back up on these amazing works of art

    3 Aug 2013 Reply
  • Flynner11

    You were great tonight lads.

    20 Apr 2013 Reply
  • elmoistickly

    Saw this band tonight, they were amazing

    20 Apr 2013 Reply
  • Flynner11

    Me too SoaringScout, me too.

    9 Apr 2013 Reply
  • postrocklove

    Still so underrated but that's probably a good thing. A couple of tickets were only 14 Euro each, I feel like I'm ripping them off a bit.

    18 Mar 2013 Reply
  • SoaringScout

    I wish I had a sexy scottish accent

    5 Mar 2013 Reply
  • jamesdelve

    'No One can Ever Know' is one of our Top albums of 2012!

    26 Jan 2013 Reply
  • GodHimself96

    they're from my home town omg

    9 Jan 2013 Reply
  • fleshprison9

    I still don't like the accent! but on "No One Can Ever Know" it sounds like it isn't being sung in English, so I am sort of ok with that. . . haha

    3 Jan 2013 Reply
  • rar17

    So original. Of course they are hugely inspired by some classic bands and sound, but they've mixed it great and created something amazing.

    3 Nov 2012 Reply
  • All 949 shouts