Skip to
YouTube video

Loading player…

Large artwork

Related Tags

Illadelph Halflife is the third studio album by American hip hop band The Roots, released September 24, 1996 on Geffen Records. It features a tougher and broader sound than their previous album, Do You Want More?!!!??! (1995). The album also contains integration of programmed drums and guest contributions by R&B musicians such as Amel Larrieux and D'Angelo, as well as jazz musicians such as David Murray, Steve Coleman, Cassandra Wilson, Graham Haynes. In 1998, the album was selected as one… read more



Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

  • Avatar for Skittles-90
    My fave from them, perhaps even my fave hip hop album of all.
  • Avatar for DickBigems
    Essential to have for any east coast hip hop head. This is when Black Thought and Malik B really came into their own as lyricists I think.
  • Avatar for SimonePerrota
    This is better than Do You Want More in every way.
  • Avatar for Aristoxenous
    REAL hip-hop
  • Avatar for PubliKEnemy08
    Truely a classic Roots album.
  • Avatar for jussi_m
    The best. I hope they will do another one like this, would be so awesome.
  • Avatar for DickBigems
    Damn, they don't have Clones. That's one of my favorite cuts.
  • Avatar for mk741
    I enjoy Things Fall Apart and Do You Want More?!!!??! more, but Illadelph is still excellent. It's pretty easy to see why this album gets so much love.
  • Avatar for KwiatekZ
    hands down the best roots album [7] Illadelph halflife is perfect in every second
  • Avatar for Binkus
    Everything going on musically in this album is so cool, laid back, and unique. Thought makes some really solid lyrical statements in this one too. Such an excellent and underated album. It's definetely got a decent cult following going on though.

API Calls