Essential Collection

Capitol Records
Release date
29 Mar 2005
Running length
15 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Suddenly Last Summer (2002 Digital Remaster) 3:42 1,024
2 Shame (2002 Digital Remaster) 4:11 159
3 Counting (2002 Digital Remaster) 4:35 104
4 Take The L (2002 Digital Remaster) 3:42 120
5 Kix (Digitally Remastered 2005) 2:16 57
6 Total Control (Digitally Remastered 2005) 3:52 359
7 Remember The Nights (2002 Digital Remaster) 3:12 98
8 Celia (2002 Digital Remaster) 3:07 74
9 Mission Of Mercy (2002 Digital Remaster) 3:03 92
10 Careful (Digitally Remastered 2005) 3:30 45
11 So L.A. (Digitally Remastered 2005) 3:37 48
12 Tables Turned (Digitally Remastered 2005) 3:34 55
13 Danger (2002 Digital Remaster) 3:25 74
14 Change My Mind (Digitally Remastered 2005) 3:20 52
15 Only The Lonely (2001 Digital Remaster) 3:18 698

About this album

Led by the charismatic Martha Davis, the Motels were one of the most successful and acclaimed bands to emerge from the fertile Los Angeles new wave scene, reaching the Top Ten in 1982 with their biggest hit, “Only the Lonely.” Davis formed the group in 1972 while living in Berkeley, California, recruiting guitarist Dean Chamberlain and bassist Richard d’Andrea; originally dubbed the Warfield Foxes, they became the Motels upon relocating to L.A., but despite interest from a number of record labels, the group suffered through endless lineup changes, finally disbanding in 1976. Davis soon formed a new Motels roster with guitarist Jeff Jourard, his saxophonist/keyboardist brother Marty, bassist Michael Goodroe, and drummer Brian Glascock; signing to Capitol, in 1979 the group issued its self-titled debut LP, scoring a minor hit with the ballad “Total Control.” Guitarist Tim McGovern, formerly of the Pop, replaced Jeff Jourard prior to the release of the 1980 sophomore effort Careful. After Capitol rejected the Motels’ third album, Apocalypso, McGovern exited, and the group re-recorded the album with guitarist Guy Perry and assorted session musicians.
This time the label relented, releasing a retooled version of Apocalypso called All Four One in 1982. The album eventually went gold on the strength of the atmospheric “Only the Lonely,” which ascended to the number nine spot. The evocative “Suddenly Last Summer,” the lead single from the Motels’ 1983 follow-up, Little Robbers, reached number nine as well a year later, yielding the Top 40 entry “Remember the Nights.

Other releases

Listening Trend

Sorry, there was a problem fetching these charts. Please try again in a few minutes.

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • buffalowrap

    Damn good lyrics, but all of their songs do. They are almost between their time, they were hot in the 80's but I believe that if they were up and coming nowadays they would still rock. KICK ASS

    19 May 2009 Reply
  • hunterwaydelta

    Come fly with Me

    28 Jul 2008 Reply

Top Listeners