Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

The Mop Collective


  • 322
  • 103


Everyone’s tags

More tags


The Mop Collective was formed at Canterbury Christ Church University in 2008 by guitarist, composer and artist Joe Inkpen with the purpose of bringing something fresh, ambitious and innovative to the ears of the masses. The Mop Collective present rich, intricate songs with comparisons being made to Prog Rock icons including Frank Zappa, King Crimson and Cardiacs as well as modern bands such as Oceansize, Radiohead and Porcupine Tree, as the style of The Mop flows effortlessly from graceful clean guitar arpeggios to epic rock choruses to bone-crunching metal riffs.

2009 presented The Mop’s first album, “Matilda”, an eight song concept album whose narrative is depicted in a series of artworks. It is available from the official website.

2010 saw the release of “Delusions”, a six track EP of songs from and pre Matilda, recorded with the Quartet lineup. It is available on AmazonMP3 and iTunes.

2010 also saw The Mop expand to an eleven-piece lineup for a performance of Joe Inkpen’s ‘Rainbow Conceptuals’, a rock-infused chamber work as part of Canterbury’s Sounds New Contemporary Music Festival.

Currently, The Mop Collective are playing gigs around Kent and London as the Sextet II lineup.

Joe Inkpen - Guitar and composition
Tori Hamel-Cooke - Lead vocal
Patrick Tolliday - Guitar
Marcus Chapman - Keys
Sean Hammond - Bass
Christos Peonides- Drums

Top Albums

Listening Trend

103listeners all time
322scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.