Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

The Mint Chicks


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Auckland, New Zealand (2001 – 2010)

The Mint Chicks were an experimental noise rock/power pop group from , consisting of Kody Nielson (vocals, keyboards), Ruban Nielson (guitar, vocals), Michael Logie (bass) and Paul Roper (drums). Formed in 2001, they began by playing punk house parties and low profile shows before being discovered by acclaimed New Zealand independent record label .

They have since released five records under the Flying Nun banner: “Octagon, Octagon, Octagon EP” (2003), “Anti-Tiger EP” (2004), “F**k The Golden Youth” (2005), “Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No!” (2006) and “Screens” (2009), as well as one EP under the label, “Bad Buzz” (2010) and a digital self release of “Mintunes” EP (2008) consisting of “8-bit versions” of both previously released songs and tracks from the album Screens. All were produced and recorded by the band’s core members Ruban and Kody Nielson, with the exception of Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No! which was produced by the Nielson brothers and their father Chris Nielson at two different home studios.

All four original band members met at Orewa College in Orewa, New Zealand, although the band starting moving between Portland, Oregon and Auckland, as the Nielson brothers have dual citizenship in New Zealand and the U.S.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

24,470listeners all time
541,602scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • GreenShark4

    I think that F In Math is one of the better music projects to have come from their split, but I miss them regardless u-u

    25 Jan 10:51pm Reply
  • psychobadger

    I miss these guys. I don't like their new projects.

    25 May 2013 Reply
  • pantos27

    Great news - Kody's new band:

    28 Nov 2011 Reply
  • Nagsworth

    such sad news that they split up. i love this band so much and unknown mortal orchestra are really only a speck in comparison to TMC's wonderful sound.

    18 Nov 2011 Reply
  • kuato_lives

    unknown mortal orchestra

    13 Oct 2011 Reply
  • conditionals

    Wait... they broke up? Aw fucking MAN.

    22 Jun 2011 Reply
  • julyinnewyork


    18 Jun 2011 Reply
  • india415


    19 Feb 2011 Reply
  • GummyAttacker

    wavves rip off?? the fuck, mint chicks time traveled to rip off wavves before they existed [3]

    30 Jan 2011 Reply
  • camisadonz

    mint chicks time traveled to rip off wavves before they existed [2]

    8 Jan 2011 Reply
  • ohmygod96

    ot on your heeeeeeeeeeeels.... hot on your heals.

    17 Dec 2010 Reply
  • michaelleahcim

    haha wavves ripoff.

    1 Dec 2010 Reply
  • joehill448

    YUS finally 10,000 listens on the mint chicks :D

    15 Nov 2010 Reply
  • joehill448

    we want more live shows :)

    14 Oct 2010 Reply

    this shits bad ass

    18 Sep 2010 Reply
  • Nagsworth

    Yeah totally in love with 'Screens' now after repeated listens, and the 'Bad Buzz' EP is amazing. It's proper garage rock/psychedelia influenced. These guys might be one of my favourite bands ever. Even 'Mintunes' is great.

    12 Jul 2010 Reply
  • Nagsworth

    Haha the production is quite shoddy on the new album, what's up with that? 'C?Y!D?N!' was pretty consistently crisp. Still, it's pretty good stuff, they've gone very poppy haven't they!

    4 Jul 2010 Reply
  • G-Biscuit

    Screens is brilliant and so different, I've loved them from the start and they have yet to disappoint!

    21 Jun 2010 Reply
  • Nagsworth

    Come play at my house.

    10 Apr 2010 Reply
  • psychobadger


    30 Mar 2010 Reply
  • All 206 shouts

Top Listeners