Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

The McGillicuddys


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Under the influence of old school punk rock and traditional Celtic
music, the McGillicuddys have evolved a sound often likened to the
Pogues, Clash, or Social Distortion. Gritty, honest lyrics, combined
with the melodic lilt of traditional instruments, such as the accordion,
tin whistle and mandolin, are blended with the heavy crunch of guitar,
drums and bass, for the full bodied McGillicuddys experience.
The McGillicuddys first full length CD, entitled Kilt by Death, was
released domestically on Retch Records (Merseyside, UK), in May of

2002. The CD includes 12 tracks, ranging from the punk inspired “On
the Rocks,” to the more traditionally influenced “Lady Owen,” with the
cow-punk tinged “Please Stay” mixed in for good measure. The
McGillicuddys embarked on a successful western Canadian tour in
May 2003 in support of this release. A European version of Kilt by
Death, with two bonus tracks, was released in September 2003.
Tracks from Kilt by Death also appear on the Retch Records
Compilation World Wide Noise Attack, The Best of Retch Records and
the Sex with Nothing compilation by Brainless Productions.
The McGillicuddys are:
• Mike Walker—lead vocals, guitar, mandolin and tin whistle
• Ian Barrett—guitar and backing vocals
• Jill Clayton—accordion, backing vocals and tin whistle
• Michelle Kent—bass and backing vocals
• Brent Restall—drums and backing vocals

Top Albums

Listening Trend

1,808listeners all time
14,523scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners