There's Me And There's You

Accidental Records
Release date
7 Nov 2008
Running length
12 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 The Story 6:24 10,008
2 Pontificate 2:53 6,770
3 Waiting 5:36 6,113
4 Yessness 4:48 610
5 Battery 6:13 5,262
6 Regina 5:51 4,902
7 Rich Man's Prayer 4:04 460
8 Breathe 7:26 4,318
9 Knowing 2:07 4,403
10 Nonsounds 3:14 410
11 One Life 5:28 3,979
12 Just Swing 5:25 4,084

About this album

The Matthew Herbert Big Band returns with the debut of material from their new album, There’s Me And There’s You. Fans of Goodbye Swingtime, the last MHBB outing, won’t be disappointed: it’s another explicitly political album that combines the cream of London’s session musicians with Herbert’s beautifully infectious songwriting, all underpinned by his deft sampledelica. Expect to hear everything from the sounds of landfill sites, to a body being cremated and even a cheeky visit to the Houses Of Parliament. Who else would have Tony Benn, John Major and Ken Livingstone in the liner notes? Underground soul hero Eska Mtungwazi (who’s worked with everyone from Ty to Lewis Taylor and David Sylvian) fronts the latest incarnation of the 18-piece band, with Herbert himself sampling the whole affair back on itself live.

The album is released digitally on 13 October and will be available a few weeks later in the UK and Japan on Accidental Records. It is released on !K7 in the rest of the world.

Other releases

Listening Trend

8,412listeners all time
141,617scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners