Frances The Mute (14:39)

Cover of A Missing Chromosome

From A Missing Chromosome and 4 other releases

Intended as the first and last track of the planned double album, then removed and released as a separate single. It is made up of three movements:

A: In Thirteen Seconds
B: Nineteen Sank, While Six Would Swim
C: Five Would Grow And One Was Dead


Everyone’s tags

More tags

Play with Spotify

Is this the wrong video for this track? Suggest a better video

Flag video

Albums featuring this track (5)

Similar Tracks

  Track   Duration Listeners
The Mars Volta - Miranda That Ghost Just Isn't Holy Anymore 13:11 55,051
The Mars Volta - Cassandra Gemini 4:45 48,163
Coheed and Cambria - In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3 8:12 130,226
Antemasque - 4AM 1:30 14,946
Steven Wilson - Significant Other 4:31 29,554
Anywhere - Pyramid Mirrors 5:37 3,431

Listening Trend

46,762listeners all time
213,596scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • AnarchyBrony

    v I think the first four minutes of the title track are suppose to be some sort of symbolic concept. IMO, It seemed to be referencing the fan theory of some sort of rape. Again, this is just speculation since there's so many fan theories as to what the concept of Frances is about due to it being less straightforward than how De-Loused is.

    20 Dec 2014 Reply
  • DDevilized

    while I actually like the ending to The Widow, the first 4 minutes of this are nothing but pointless.

    19 Dec 2014 Reply
  • tuiekun

    The end is so math, awesome.

    15 Jan 2014 Reply
  • solanine

    entire album + this couldve been great if it werent for dumb wankery like the first 4 minutes of this

    5 Jan 2014 Reply
  • rocketsandwich


    17 Oct 2013 Reply
  • infinity-inc

    Anyone who thinks the first 4:30 needs cutting out doesn't use enough hallucinogens.

    3 Sep 2013 Reply
  • infinity-inc

    Oh my fucking god.

    3 Sep 2013 Reply
  • SoaringScout

    Do I get brownie points for whenever I sit through the first 4 and a half minutes?

    9 Aug 2013 Reply
  • eljasmy

    it's been 13 seconds since the music played

    27 Jul 2013 Reply
  • Juniahh

    While I agree that this shouldn't have been cut from the album I completely disagree with the removal of the "frog and strange noises." Way to miss the fucking point. A double disc release would've been cool but I'm not complaining. At least they released it as a single. Otherwise this would've just circulated as a bootleg in a shitty, unbearable bitrate taking away from the song.

    13 Apr 2013 Reply
  • tysienka

    this definitely should be on album, instead of this frogs and strange noises.

    27 Feb 2013 Reply
  • Mindo91

    Everytime I get to 11:11 I'm certain that this is one of the greatest songs ever written

    13 Feb 2013 Reply
  • rhinowing

    I used to have a version of this that was edited into cygnus and it works perffectly at the start of the album

    24 Jan 2013 Reply
  • infinity-inc

    Why the hell did this get cut from the album in favour of five minutes of frog noise?

    10 Dec 2012 Reply
  • Dee_Pedro

    I feel sorry for people who miss out on this song. [2]

    31 Oct 2012 Reply
  • spreadblood4

    this song evokes so many grand memories. classic.

    25 Sep 2012 Reply
  • uncloaked

    first 4:28 The suffering, not the experience of, but the video game :D

    1 Aug 2012 Reply
  • theresound

    i set mine on itunes to start at 4:28, perfect

    3 Mar 2012 Reply
  • orq

    This song is scary as shit. I remember listening to it for the first time, gave me huge creeps :)

    11 Jan 2012 Reply
  • notwa

    those tiny little ankles

    30 Dec 2011 Reply
  • All 165 shouts

Top Listeners