Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

The Heligoats


Everyone’s tags

More tags


The Heligoats are an indie/rock band out of bellingham washington.

Label: Greyday Records

From NPR:
The Heligoats — a strange name for a guy strumming a guitar, but oddly befitting someone who stuffs his songs with so many sideways ideas and observations. Given the yarns he spins here, it’s easy to imagine Otepka envisioning a herd of goats with propellers and setting the concept to music.

From Daytrotter:

Chris Otepka, the lead singer for the Bellingham-based indie rock band The Heligoats, a project that he’s been working on for over 10 years now, has a very quirky and a very imaginative head on his shoulders and he tends to think about and write about the workings of these bodies - more specifically, it seems, his own, the one that he knows most intimately - in very, well, intimate ways. He thinks of them differently than most people do. He seems to hear these bodies talking to themselves, not hearing voices in his head per se - though that might happen frequently as well - but more so hearing these bodies communicate as if they were municipalities, with neighborhoods and precincts and factions in conflict with one another at all times. For any peace, they may look to the outside.

From Greyday:
We all know that “long-awaited” is overused in band bios, but ask any hardcore Heligoats or Troubled Hubble fans and they will tell you that they’ve worn out the edges of their seats waiting for the newest release from Chris Otepka, the man behind The Heligoats.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

8,137listeners all time
142,068scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • haplomega

    check out the kickstarter for the heligoats:

    7 Aug 2012 Reply
  • TheRealLastFM

    One of a kind :)

    24 Jul 2012 Reply
  • haplomega

    NEW HELIGOATS! PLEASE NOTE: These four tracks are included on the upcoming vinyl release of The End of All-Purpose. So if you are ordering that and just want the mp3s of these songs, you already have them!

    17 Jul 2012 Reply
  • haplomega

    SPRING TOUR W/ EEF BARZELAY One Lucky Guitar - Ft. Wayne, IN Wednesday, May 23, 2012 The Hideout - Chicago, IL Thursday, May 24, 2012 Email for info! - Minneapolis, MN Friday, May 25, 2012 The Laundry Chute - Milwaukee, WI Saturday, May 26, 2012 Indie Coffee - Madison, WI Sunday, May 27, 2012 Albert S. George Youth Center - Brownsville, OH Thursday, May 31, 2012 Pete's Candy Shop - Brooklyn, NY Friday, June 1, 2012 Private Show - Wallingford, VT Saturday, June 2, 2012 Starving Artists Collective - Keene, NH Sunday, June 3, 2012 IOTA - Arlington, VA Tuesday, June 5, 2012

    22 May 2012 Reply
  • haplomega

    ON TOUR!

    18 May 2012 Reply
  • jadehanae

    coisa mais gostosinha do mundo de se ouvir ;)

    16 Nov 2011 Reply
  • cgiv6n

    dude's good, real good

    21 Sep 2011 Reply
  • haplomega

    Good News Everyone, The Heligoats Just spent time Recording a new Album, so be on the look out for a new release in the coming months

    15 Sep 2011 Reply
  • haplomega

    Live Free and Let Loose, from Sam Humans and The Heligoats Sam Humans (...worms, O Bruxo) is A bearded family man with a reputation for sermon like performances, a history of accomplishment lies scattered throughout the tumultuous details of his life. Live Free is the first release under the Sam Humans monicker (formerly known as Modernstate). The Heligoats are a 4 piece from Bellingham WA (via Chicago), fronted by songwriter Chris Otepka (ex-singer/guitarist of Troubled Hubble). Let Loose is the first batch of recordings from the band since early 2010's highly acclaimed Goodness Gracious, and is the prelude to the next Heligoats album, due out in 2011. Hand letterpressed vinyl-style case. Track List: Sam Humans: Live Free 01. Hate Is the New Love 02. Firedrill 03. Can't Stop the Sun 04. Chemical Fire 05. Cold, Cold Whisky 06. As a People The Heligoats: Let Loose 07. A Word From Our Sponsors 08. Turn Down the Offer 09. Moon See, Day See 10. Boil Over

    7 Jan 2011 Reply
  • milkplus

    i didn't believe that troubled hubble could be topped. i was wrong. the heligoats are unparalleled in terms of song writing. goodness gracious is a perfect record and my favourite of 2010.

    19 Dec 2010 Reply
  • WaywardWinds

    I don't understand the lack of buzz. This guy is brilliant!

    16 Oct 2010 Reply
  • marcel_vanders

    Fish Sticks is great

    18 Aug 2010 Reply
  • dashiellbrown

    love Goodness Gracious, I wrote a review here,

    9 Mar 2010 Reply
  • yalikamatwomoob

    blog with fish dicks on

    7 Mar 2010 Reply
  • SuperCoolBros

    goodness gracious leaked, this is fantastic

    15 Jan 2010 Reply
  • TheDevilsTuna

    Check out tonight's post on the Devil's blog at featuring The Heligoats with a free track to download.

    5 Jan 2010 Reply
  • haplomega

    I love The Heligoats, Chris Otepka is refreshingly brilliant as a lyricist and comedian, i will be on the heels of every release this artist has.

    3 Jan 2010 Reply
  • Zujung

    this is fantastic

    29 Jan 2009 Reply

Top Listeners