• Album Review: The Gathering - Disclosure (2012)

    24 Sep 2012, 20:01 by irisvanhoorn

    The Gathering - Disclosure


    It took quite some time since the release of the first single Heroes for Ghosts on the 16th of May 2011 until the release of this new album Disclosure on the 12th of September 2012. But I must say, it was definitely worth the waiting! I pre-ordered the album at the webshop of the band and it arrived already on the 1st of September. With this album The Gathering delivered another masterpiece. It is a very atmospheric album, creating landscapes of sound rather than individual songs. It shows again the bands' creativity and originality. The album is different from its predecessor The West Pole, which was more of a rock album, although it had a lot of atmospheric influences. Personally I can't say yet which of the two I like better, they're just different. But I must say this new style of music is fitting a little bit better with Silje's voice, compared to the earlier songs. …
  • Rank the Albums of The Gathering

    28 Feb 2012, 20:51 by irisvanhoorn

    Now I have reviewed all albums of The Gathering, I would like to make a ranking list of their studio albums as well. And I must say it wasn't easy, because I like all of their albums so much, and they are all special in their own way. Though in the end I like some more than others, so here it is, starting with the best one on top:

    1. Mandylion (1995)
    Their first album with singer Anneke van Giersbergen, and their ultimate best album in my opinion. A standard work in the Gothic metal genre, containing great, original, guitar based metal songs, with a little atmospheric touch. Anneke's amazing voice never sounded as beautiful and powerful as on this album.
    Best tracks: Strange Machines, Eléanor, In Motion #1, In Motion #2

    2. The West Pole (2009)
    In contrast to the number 1, this is their most recent album and the first album with new singer Silje Wergeland. …
  • The Gathering Live at P60, Amstelveen (27 May 2011) and at De Kelder, Amersfoort (16…

    26 Feb 2012, 22:11 by irisvanhoorn

    Last year (2011) I went to two live concerts of The Gathering: one at P60, Amstelveen on the 27th of May and one at De Kelder, Amersfoort on the 16th of September. Both concerts were really great. At first I didn't know what to expect of the new singer, Silje Wergeland. But she was really good! Not only her 'own' songs from The West Pole, but also the older songs sounded really great. I never knew she had such a powerful voice. Highlight both times was the amazing new single Heroes for Ghosts. It is such a great song and fits so well with her voice and her way of singing. The only thing Silje lacks is a bit of charisma to interact with the audience. It seems she is still a bit shy. But that might have been due to the audience as well. On both events the audience was not really enthusiastic, and talking a lot in between, but also during the songs, which was very annoying. I was also surprised that such a few people came to see them. I would expect them to have more fans after so many years. …
  • The Best of The Gathering (Top-25)

    26 Feb 2012, 20:34 by irisvanhoorn

  • The Gathering: beyond The West Pole

    26 Feb 2012, 14:22 by irisvanhoorn

    After reviewing all of the amazing albums of The Gathering I felt the need to write something more about them. Since the release of their latest album The West Pole in 2009, not that much was heard from the band. And it was quite a disappointment to read last month that we have to wait for their new album until September. Though still there are some things I would like to mention.

    City From Above


    The City From Above EP was released in 2009, around the same time as The West Pole. It was initially included in a special "The West Pole package" containing the album and an exclusive T-shirt, which could be ordered via the webshop of the band. I got it for free when I bought a bunch of albums (The West Pole, Home, Souvenirs, if_then_else and How to Measure a Planet?) via the webshop in August 2010. The EP is not that special, but it is nice to have. And of course one should never look a gift horse in the mouth! It consists of five tracks…