Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

The Fantasy Band


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Founded by Smooth Cruise Producer, Rich Engel, as a result of a booking cancellation in 1987. The original members were Noel Pointer, Larry Coryell, Ray Barretto, Roy Ayers, Herbie Mann, John Lee, and Gerry Brown. The band performed on the two hour N.Y. cruise for the next four years. Although they began recording, they never completed, or released an album. Rich Engel re-formed the band in 1993, which featured Chuck Loeb, Dave Samuels, George Jinda, Marion Meadows, John Lee, and Lionel Cordew. Three albums resulted from this project. The first on the now defunct DMP Records, and two followed on Shanachie Records. In 1997 Rich Engel was threatend by a law suit by Fantasy Records over the use of the name ” Fantasy Band.” Shanachie dropped the group from the label, and the members went on to pursue their individual careers.

Top Albums

Listening Trend

542listeners all time
1,904scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners