Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

The Faith


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Washington DC, United States (1981 – 1983)

The Faith was an early American band, from Washington DC, with strong connections to the scene centered on the Dischord label.

The band formed as a four piece in the summer of 1981 and featured Alec MacKaye on vocals, former vocalist for the Untouchables, as well as Michael Hampton of State of Alert on guitar. On second guitar, bass and drums were Eddie Janney, Chris Bald and Ivor Hanson. After recording a demo, the band released a split LP with fellow D.C. band, Void. It was released by Dischord, a local independent label founded by MacKaye’s older brother and Minor Threat vocalist, Ian MacKaye. It featured the song “You’re X’d,” which addressed the philosophy popularized by Minor Threat and S.O.A..

In 1983 The Faith released an eight song twelve inch EP called “Subject to Change”. It was produced by Ian MacKaye and showed the band progressing into more territory with the addition of a second guitarist. Within a few months of recording the record The Faith broke up, and three out of five members went on to join Embrace with Ian MacKaye on vocals. Guitarist Eddie Janney joined Rites of Spring and later was reunited with Michael Hampton for One Last Wish. Alec MacKaye went on to sing for Ignition and then later The Warmers.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

7,391listeners all time
132,496scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners