Weird Scenes Inside the Gold Mine (disc 2)

Running length
10 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Five to One 4:30 324,914
2 Horse Latitudes 1:35 175,558
3 Who Scared You 3:19 51,434
4 Take It As It Comes ( LP Version ) 2:14 1,342
5 L.A. Woman 7:55 492,060
6 Maggie M'Gill 4:23 114,314
7 Running Blue 0:00 5,134
8 You Need Meat 0:00 1,906
9 When the Music's Over 14:51 358,092
10 Riders on the Storm 6:55 772,049

About this album

Weird Scenes Inside the Gold Mine was The Doors’ second compilation album (following 13), released in 1972. The album’s title is a lyric from the song “The End.” The album, like 13 and the 1973 The Best of the Doors, has not been released on compact disc. All of them were certified Gold or Platinum by the RIAA.

Two of the songs on the compilation, “Who Scared You” and “(You Need Meat) Don’t Go No Further,” were originally released as B-sides to 1969’s “Wishful Sinful” and 1971’s “Love Her Madly”, respectively. This was the only official album release of the songs until “Who Scared You” appeared in the 1997 Box Set and “(You Need Meat) Don’t Go No Further” appeared in the 2006 Perception box set. The only non-album track to remain unreleased on any album is the song “Tree Trunk”, which was released as a B-side to “Get Up and Dance” in 1972.

The version of “Who Scared You” that was released on the Doors’ Box Set is a shorter edit; part of the last verse is omitted. The full length song was released in 1999 on Essential Rarities, and later on the 2006 remastered release of The Soft Parade as a bonus track.

Listening Trend

Sorry, there was a problem fetching these charts. Please try again in a few minutes.

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners