Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

The Bug


Everyone’s tags

More tags


London, United Kingdom (1997 – present)

The Bug is the main current music project of London-based producer Kevin Martin. Kevin has been a part of a number of groups including Techno Animal, The Sidewinder, God, ICE, Curse Of The Golden Vampire, Zonal, King Midas Sound, Black Chow, Cult of the 13th Hour, Pressure and Experimental Audio Research through which he’s experimented with fusing such diverse genres as grindcore, industrial, metal, hip-hop, dub, jazz and ambient. The Bug’s music draws influence from dancehall, noise, grime, and hip hop. More subdued influences would include dubstep and the dubtronica and broken techno of Basic Channel and Pole.

The Bug’s first album Tapping The Conversation was released in 1997 on the seminal Wordsound label. The album was conceived as an alternative soundtrack to the 1974 Francis Ford Coppola film The Conversation. In this incarnation The Bug consisted of Kevin Martin and DJ Vadim.

From 2001-2004 The Bug collaborated with UK reggae soundsystem veteran The Rootsman on a number of limited edition 7” singles, released on the Razor X label. The project went by the name of Razor X Productions. These releases were characterised by their harsh, aggressive nature both musically and vocally (vocal artists including Jamaican MCs such as He-Man and Wayne Lonesome).

The Bug’s second album, Pressure was released on Rephlex Records in 2003. It included a number of more ambient, dub-flavoured tracks alongside the ragga-tinged onslaughts.

In 2004 the Bug collaborated with Warrior Queen on the track Aktion Pak.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

165,248listeners all time
2,066,055scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • 2393

    Check Re-Entry by Techno Animal or Scorn - Evanescence.

    26 Oct 9:31am Reply
  • zkl2wwa

    I wish there were more releases in 'Tapping the Conversation' style. Great pot music.

    25 Oct 4:01pm Reply
  • RussellChap

    Kevin Martin is Bill Laswell

    14 Oct 1:59pm Reply
  • faithlessss

    10 Oct 8:44pm Reply
  • darkgnome

    Indeed he did.

    5 Oct 1:04pm Reply
  • Alec_Trevelyan

    What the hell? At War With Time (Feat. Spaceape) just starts playing in my player and I click on, and read the headline: "RIP The Spaceape"!!! He passed away, so sad.

    4 Oct 4:37pm Reply
  • ZeroFiamma

    I love you.

    28 Sep 12:35pm Reply
  • fkingly_fine

    Beats in Angels & Devils fit the lyrics so flawlessly...

    26 Sep 2:24am Reply
  • georgeplendl

    Love the new album.

    5 Sep 5:30pm Reply
  • darkgnome

    IDM tag = Stupid Americans. [2]

    4 Sep 12:29pm Reply
  • Alec_Trevelyan

    IDM tag = Stupid Americans.

    3 Sep 12:37am Reply
  • IvanTank

    another touted by some p4k's dummy with it epic return, like GY!BE, BoC, Squarepusher, Clark, Aphex Twin etc. Btw what the hell idm tag doing here?

    30 Aug 2:43am Reply
  • IvanTank

    [phuq u, its great as it is] great in what?

    30 Aug 2:38am Reply
  • darkgnome

    how the hell can you listen to fat mac and be like, i wish there was no flowdan in this, i wish this was instrumental. some fucking people [2]

    29 Aug 7:08am Reply
  • hardwareltd

    Fuck a Bitch is pure madness. Actually the whole album is superb.

    26 Aug 6:25pm Reply
  • zkl2wwa

    'Tapping The Conversation' is a fuckin' A material.

    25 Aug 10:25pm Reply
  • madrfadr

    Kill KIlL!!! killer record!

    24 Aug 8:45am Reply
  • winterhymn

    how the hell can you listen to fat mac and be like, i wish there was no flowdan in this, i wish this was instrumental. some fucking people

    24 Aug 8:15am Reply
  • PhredPL

    Agreed with bloodmaw, all the mc's work well with the beats imo. Fantastic record.

    23 Aug 10:20pm Reply
  • Janshq

    Wish it was instrumental

    23 Aug 8:47pm Reply
  • All 356 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners