Pet Sounds

Capitol Catalog
Release date
5 Feb 2001
Running length
27 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Wouldn't It Be Nice (Digitally Remastered 96) 2:22 6,594
2 You Still Believe In Me (Digitally Remastered 96) 2:34 4,840
3 That's Not Me (1996 Digital Remaster) 2:30 3,773
4 Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder) (1996 Digital Remaster) 2:54 3,482
5 I'm Waiting For The Day (Digitally Remastered 96) 3:05 4,014
6 Let's Go Away For Awhile (Digitally Remastered 96) 2:20 3,765
7 Sloop John B (1996 - Remaster) 3:00 2,829
8 God Only Knows (1997 - Remaster) 2:53 5,372
9 I Know There's An Answer (Digitally Remastered 96) 3:11 3,649
10 Here Today (Digitally Remastered 96) 2:54 3,411
11 I Just Wasn't Made For These Times (Digitally Remastered 96) 3:14 3,305
12 Pet Sounds (Digitally Remastered 96) 2:23 3,339
13 Caroline, No (1996 Digital Remaster) 2:53 2,886
14 Hang on to Your Ego 3:03 104,498
15 Wouldn't It Be Nice (2000 - Remaster) 2:33 2,551
16 You Still Believe In Me (The Stereo Mix) (1996 Digital Remaster) 2:36 3,262
17 That's Not Me (The Stereo Mix) (1996 Digital Remaster) 2:31 3,155
18 Don't Talk (Put Your Head On My Shoulder) (The Stereo Mix) (1996 Digital Remaster) 2:53 3,128
19 I'm Waiting For The Day (The Stereo Mix) (1996 Digital Remaster) 3:05 2,864
20 Let's Go Away For Awhile (The Stereo Mix) (1996 Digital Remaster) 2:22 2,778
21 Sloop John B (The Stereo Mix) (1996 Digital Remaster) 2:59 3,083
22 God Only Knows (The Stereo Mix) (1996 Digital Remaster) 2:54 4,334
23 I Know There's An Answer (The Stereo Mix) (1996 Digital Remaster) 3:17 2,526
24 Here Today (The Stereo Mix) (1996 Digital Remaster) 3:07 2,589
25 I Just Wasn't Made For These Times (The Stereo Mix) (1996 Digital Remaster) 3:21 2,384
26 Pet Sounds (The Stereo Mix) (1996 Digital Remaster) 2:37 2,401
27 Caroline, No (The Stereo Mix) (1996 Digital Remaster) 2:51 2,479

About this album

Pet Sounds is The Beach Boys’s eleventh studio album, released May 16, 1966, on Capitol Records. It has been widely ranked as one of the most influential records ever released in western pop music and has been ranked at number #1 in several music magazines’ lists of greatest albums of all time, including New Musical Express, The Times and Mojo Magazine. In 2003, it was ranked #2 in Rolling Stone’s 500 Greatest Albums of All Time list. According to, Pet Sounds is the second most acclaimed album of all time by music journalists, after ‘Revolver’ by The Beatles released in the same year.

Pet Sounds was created several months after Brian Wilson had quit touring with the band in order to focus his attention on writing and recording. In it, he wove elaborate layers of vocal harmonies, coupled with sound effects and unconventional instruments such as bicycle bells, buzzing organs, harpsichords, flutes, the Electro-Theremin, and dog whistles, along with the more usual keyboards and guitars.

Other releases

Listening Trend

375,556listeners all time
8,989,816scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • B1ackjack_

    one of the worst albums ever, also overrated

    28 Apr 3:45pm Reply
  • PhnomPencil

    Yeah Beach Boys peaked higher than the Beatles, no question. Macca/Lennon/George Martin were like Mozart, nursery rhymes from heaven. Wilson here was like Bach, expressing divine unity.

    29 Mar 10:57am Reply
  • shangoyal

    The greatest album in rock history if you consider just the JOY you get out of putting it on. I can't listen to it enough.

    25 Mar 7:02pm Reply
  • moonrocks95 please vote for this to be corrected and merged with Pet Sounds

    20 Mar 1:09am Reply
  • XDRory

    Part of what makes this album so great for me is that it deals with like 20 themes that relate to me that no other albums even come close to

    27 Jan 7:33pm Reply
  • gretagarbos

    this album is so perfect

    24 Jan 8:05pm Reply
  • El_Salvador7

    Man, somehow I went a long time without listening to my favourite record of all-time. But now that I've put on Pet Sounds again, I suddenly realize it's full brilliance again. Thank you, Brian, for making me live.

    18 Jan 7:09pm Reply
  • StrictlyStupid

    this is the kind of album to make you want to escape from society and spend a month at a beach house far, far away with the love of your life, your closest friends and a surfboard. 9.5/10

    31 Dec 2014 Reply
  • CharlotteAddams

    Amazing album.

    29 Dec 2014 Reply
  • enxe3

    Pe(rfec)t Sounds [2]

    21 Dec 2014 Reply
  • moisesbs3008

    oh caroline, why?????

    25 Nov 2014 Reply
  • TopherSupreme

    It's almost painful to mount a case for this NOT being the best album of all time. So why bother?

    18 Oct 2014 Reply
  • hastyevilcarnie

    perfect example of a 10/10 album

    10 Sep 2014 Reply
  • CatalystDM

    you're right, it's not a good album, it's the greatest album of all time

    1 Aug 2014 Reply
  • lyle_catcliffe

    not a good album IMHO.

    19 Jul 2014 Reply
  • prrozaccc


    20 May 2014 Reply
  • MajorHolsety

    It's just so.. perfect..

    25 Apr 2014 Reply
  • Frazerman

    Simply Amazing.

    15 Apr 2014 Reply
  • Abomination317

    This is probably blasphemy but what the hell. Sometimes I have a problem with the production of this album. Now clearly Brian worked his magic and they are all intricately pieced together beautifully, but it does seem a bit TOO much. The vocals on many tracks overpower the music sometimes obscuring it completely (having listened to the instrumental tracks from the Pet Sounds there are several occasions where musical layers are totally inaudible on the finished track). It also doesn't help that it was originally mixed in mono (This album just doesn't work in mono. There's just far far far too much in there for it to really work. That's why the modern beautifully created stereo mix is a such a godsend)

    18 Mar 2014 Reply
  • mahgeneration

    @Chrisjon1: This is anything but underrated!

    25 Feb 2014 Reply
  • All 359 shouts