Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Tappan Zee


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Northampton MA, United States (1995 – 2000)

Northampton, MA based trio, Tappan Zee, formed in 1995 after Anne Viebig (now Pinkerton) and Colin Loggins exchanged home recordings and then began collaborating on songs. New Radiant Storm King singer and guitarist, Peyton Pinkerton, joined the band soon thereafter on drums, rounding out the band. The band wrote songs collectively and specialized in combining melody with angular, inventive rhythms and arrangements.

Anne was the main vocalist and guitarist, Colin played bass and shared vocal duties, while Peyton played drums and added guitar over-dubs on recordings. In 1999 Tappan Zee released their long awaited CD, The New Luxury, on Wormco Records. Matthew Zapruder, from The Figments, joined Tappan Zee as second guitarist for a series of live performances in 1999.

In 2000, shortly after recording a cover of the Spouse song My Left Hand, Tappan Zee broke up. Tappan Zee’s version appears on the Spouse album, Catch 22.


Think Tank, self released, 1996
Recoiler, self released, 1997
The New Luxury, Wormco Records, 1999
My Left Hand, appears posthumously on the Spouse release Catch 22, Pigeon Records, 2004

Official Website:

Since 2000:

Anne Pinkerton has performed with or as an additional member of such artist as The Nuclear Waste Management Club, Mark Schwaber, Spouse, National Convention, The Speak, and Jose Ayerve. She has also appeared on albums by the artists, New Radiant Storm King, The Pernice Brothers, The Frost Heaves, Chappaquiddick Skyline, and Collapse Into Reason.

Top Albums

Listening Trend

272listeners all time
1,672scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile