Skip to
YouTube video

Loading player…

Tackhead started as an experimental collaboration between producer Adrian Sherwood and musicians Skip McDonald (guitars), Doug Wimbish (bass), and Keith LeBlanc(drums).

In the early 1980's Wimbish, McDonald, and Leblanc were the Sugarhill Records house band, providing backing for, amongst others, the Sugarhill Gang , Grandmaster Flash and Melle Mel. After the demise of Sugarhill the three musicians continued to work on various projects including recordings for Tom Silverman's Tommy Boy label.

Keith Leblancs work for Tommy Boy, most notably "No… read more

Top Tracks

Top Albums

Similar Artists


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

  • Skip McDonald on tour with Here&Now's "Mad March" tour next month.Details and dates here:
  • I think I still have their live LP somewhere, with the glow-in-the-dark moon on the cover.
  • The Other Name called Maffia
  • One of the best live shows ever in my life, Tackhead and the On U Sound system must be heard
  • Fight the devil!
  • i remember having trouble finding their early 12" , its so geat to finally get them via the web
  • reversial, u are so damn right. these are the roots of electro body music.
  • it's crazy how underrated this is
  • Tackhead is planning to record a new album and YOU can make it happen. The project is called Sharehead and everyone who donates, gets copies. More details at

API Calls