The Eternal

Release date
9 Jun 2009
Running length
12 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Sacred Trickster 2:11 109,785
2 Anti-Orgasm 6:07 84,684
3 Leaky Lifeboat (For Gregory Corso) 3:32 62,569
4 Antenna 6:14 72,165
5 What We Know 3:54 67,248
6 Calming the Snake 3:36 60,170
7 Poison Arrow 3:43 56,862
8 Malibu Gas Station 5:39 57,989
9 Thunderclap for Bobby Pyn 2:39 51,473
10 No Way 3:52 53,523
11 Walkin Blue 5:21 50,629
12 Massage the History 9:43 49,148

About this album

“The Eternal” is the sixteenth studio album by Sonic Youth, released by Matador Records on June 9, 2009, their first on that label. It was their first studio album in three years (since “Rather Ripped”), making it the band’s longest delay between studio albums. The album peaked at #18 on the Billboard 200 and was the band’s highest charting album of their career in the United States and highest charting album since 1994’s “Experimental Jet Set, Trash and No Star”, which reached #34. The album was released digitally, on CD, and as a double LP, in both a standard and a “Buy Early Get Now” (BEGN) edition.

The cover art was painted by John Fahey. The album is dedicated to Ron Asheton.

Other releases

Listening Trend

132,531listeners all time
2,870,809scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • gonzeaux

    Good album. Haters etc. [2]

    4 Aug 2014 Reply
  • Arthur_Dent_42 Database about the dynamic range of thousands of albums. Who's fallen casualty to and who survived the so called Loudness War? Find out for yourself. ;) Some brilliant and essential educational stuff on that for every musiclover important topic: and

    3 Dec 2013 Reply
  • michaelJL93

    Goo and The Eternal are BY FAR their most soild albums. I dnt care what anybody says.

    25 Nov 2012 Reply
  • willpinto96

    Perfect Album...

    13 Jan 2012 Reply
  • nanasubways

    Calming the snake, oh yess

    4 Jan 2012 Reply
  • bruno__________

    totally agree with substancex. fortunately the SYR releases still demonstrate how inventive they can be.

    3 Mar 2011 Reply
  • KeatonXZX

    In this album I find that they resorted to the formula that gave birth to "Silver Rocket": Post-punk alternative rock with smooth but forceful guitars. That tends to embody the whole album along with occasional rhythmic ballads. And, IMO, this is a formula for success. All in all, great album.

    16 Feb 2011 Reply
  • Standingonair66

    Probably my favorite of the newer albums. Not a sellout album at all.

    23 Jan 2011 Reply
  • Bolognium

    I still can't tell if this album is good or not; even after reading this shoutbox. Could someone please scream their opinion louder than the rest so I know what to think?

    28 Dec 2010 Reply
  • Cox_of_Seagulls

    Good album. Haters etc.

    19 Oct 2010 Reply
  • Hiresdes

    Goo is still probably my favorite though.

    25 Aug 2010 Reply
  • Hiresdes

    I've liked at least 4 or 5 tracks from every Sonic Youth album ever...I like Dirty and The Eternal almost as much as I like Washing Machine and Daydream Nation...Fuckoff.

    25 Aug 2010 Reply
  • JaJaJacksonx

    I like this album. I guess I don't understand Sonic Youth. Dumbass hipsters.

    14 Aug 2010 Reply
  • KeatonXZX

    Also, why is "Pay No Mind" and "No Garage" on the track list?

    5 Aug 2010 Reply
  • SeanK262

    substancex, what exactly is wrong with this album that no one seems to understand but you? 'passionless' and 'uncatchy' aren't good enough answers. please explain to me what i don't 'understand' about this album.

    8 Jul 2010 Reply
  • SeanK262

    i will never understand the hate that this album gets, i think this one is actually a real gem, and doesn't come off as commercial at all. maybe it's the crisp production that people don't like? whatever, i love this one, it plays well all the way through.

    8 Jul 2010 Reply
  • skywake

    This is the next genius one. The one before this was Sonic Nurse ;)

    8 Jul 2010 Reply
  • franti91


    4 Jul 2010 Reply
  • substancex

    It's really obvious to me that Sonic Youth are pulling another sellout attempt, just like they did back in the early 90s with "Dirty". "The Eternal" sounds good to people who like Sonic Youth for really lame reasons and never understood why their classic 80s output was so awesome. The band is perfectly capable of writing great catchy songs, but when they try too hard to appeal to a mass audience it comes off forced, passionless, and uncatchy. Most critics are too busy pretending to "get it" to notice the difference between good and bad Sonic Youth albums, so the band never gets called out on shit records like this one. I forgive them because they've been blowing my mind since the mid 90s. I just wish they'd hurry through this shitty phase and get to their inevitable next genius one.

    19 May 2010 Reply
  • mattmacneil

    haha merriweather post pavilion

    9 May 2010 Reply
  • All 55 shouts

Top Listeners