Goodbye 20th Century

Release date
21 Nov 2006
Running length
13 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Edges 15:59 3,414
1 Having Never Written a Note for Percussion 9:07 2,844
2 Six (Disk 2) 2:09 702
2 Six 3:02 2,645
3 Six for New Time 8:04 2,806
3 Burdocks 13:09 2,365
4 +- 7:00 3,269
4 Four 6 30:00 492
5 Piano Piece #13 3:57 1,024
5 Voice Piece for Soprano 0:17 127
6 Piece Enfantine 1:28 2,184
6 Pendulum 5:51 980
7 Treatise 3:27 1,480

About this album

Sonic Youth’s 4th release in their SYR series, contains performances of pieces by various avant-garde composers such as John Cage, Steve Reich and Yoko Ono. Like all there other releases in the series, it contains far more experimental music than most of their releases. It was released in Novemeber 1999 to celebrate the century and it’s music.

Other releases

Listening Trend

7,771listeners all time
22,853scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • PineappleJesus

    Engrish descriptionitsu

    2 Jan 2011 Reply
  • Ackibear

    Has some real gems, but I can see why many people can't stand it.

    22 Jun 2010 Reply
  • nikkichocnut

    this is my favorite among the SYR series

    18 Mar 2010 Reply
  • kitsune662

    this was my first sonic youth album! love the idea of a rock band performing contemporary classical music.

    25 Oct 2009 Reply
  • rogueofmv

    Doing graphic design work to this album is a trip. Highly recommended.

    28 Jun 2009 Reply
  • Killy_

    Musical elitism and book-cover judgements aside (cheers nancykitten), it appears I have mistaken this release for 'Andre Sider Af Sonic Youth', which I have had enormous trouble sitting through one listen without drifting out. I haven't in fact heard this album.

    30 Apr 2009 Reply
  • Killy_

    This is the worst album SY have ever dared to put out. Nearly unlistenable. Don't waste your time.

    29 Apr 2009 Reply
  • loaded_energy

    hi you all. pretty exciting, being round "here" (where?), being able to listen to such inspiring music and soundwork, wow. thank you very much for keep on going. (i just started with sonic youth, but i can already say, i'm pretty in love with the SYR series). maybe you like to listen to some stuff, i make. there will soon be a new album and other material. enjoy. with best wishes. a

    7 Apr 2009 Reply

Top Listeners