Persecution Mania

Release date
24 Nov 2000
Running length
13 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Nuclear Winter 5:23 28,150
2 Electrocution 3:14 22,542
3 Iron Fist 2:57 23,387
4 Persecution Mania 3:38 22,535
5 Enchanted Land 3:59 20,670
6 Procession to Golgatha 2:01 17,985
7 Christ Passion 6:38 21,544
8 Conjuration 3:42 19,866
9 Bombenhagel 6:38 21,852
10 Outbreak of Evil 5:25 45,356
11 Sodomy and Lust 5:02 19,611
12 The Conqueror 0:00 15,440
13 My Atonement 6:04 16,732

About this album

Persecution Mania is the second album by Sodom. The album marked a drastic change of sound from black metal to thrash metal. As well as defining Sodom’s sound, it exemplified the thrash metal genre at a time when it arguably peaked in popularity. The album also bore similarity to the music of other German bands such as Destruction and Kreator, and the term “Teutonic” thrash was coined from this.

Despite what the cover may imply, the lyrical themes of the album are centred more around politics and war than religion. This is largely due to guitarist Frank “Blackfire” Godznik joining the band. He brought new songwriting aspects to the band that gave it a much more organized and clearer sound, as well as helping Sodom to carve a lyrical niche that it still practices to this day. The outro guitar lead in track 9, “Bombenhagel”, is the German national anthem, “Das Lied der Deutschen”.

Persecution Mania was re-released in 2000 as part of a double pack with the Obsessed by Cruelty/In the Sign of Evil split. Both CD releases include the Expurse of Sodomy EP.

Other releases

Listening Trend

Sorry, there was a problem fetching these charts. Please try again in a few minutes.

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners