Songs for Polarbears

Jeepster Recordings Ltd
Release date
24 Apr 2006
Running length
23 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Downhill from Here 3:23 81,166
2 Starfighter Pilot 3:18 114,427
3 The Last Shot Ringing in My Ears 4:26 81,320
4 Absolute Gravity 2:45 79,500
5 Get Balsamic Vinegar...Quick You Fool 3:26 31,898
6 Mahogany 2:46 88,921
7 NYC 4:26 75,277
8 Little Hide 2:41 73,695
9 Make Up 2:12 74,223
10 Velocity Girl 4:37 95,230
11 Days Without Paracetamol 3:31 72,557
12 Fifteen Minutes Old 3:07 99,401
13 Favourite Friend 2:46 71,230
14 One Hundred Things You Should Have Done in Bed 6:08 35,237
15 Sticky Teenage Twin 2:08 25,217
16 Limited Edition 2:33 23,707
17 Jj 1:47 17,191
18 My Last Girlfriend 3:00 15,605
19 T.M.T 2:52 3,474
20 I Could Stay Away Forever 4:28 23,864
21 When You're Right, You're Right (Darth Vader Bringing in His Washing Mix) 3:31 8,682
22 Raze the City 4:21 15,163
23 Riot, Please 2:52 15,718

About this album

Songs for Polarbears is the debut album by the indie rock group Snow Patrol, released on August 31, 1998. All lyrics were written by Gary Lightbody, and all music composed by Gary Lightbody, Mark McClelland and Jonny Quinn. The album title is a reference to the band’s original name, “Polar Bear”, which was changed early on to “Snow Patrol”, due to an American band also named Polar Bear, who took exception. Part of a recorded voice message about this can be heard at the beginning of the song, “Little Hide”.

The album failed to chart and did not sell well upon its initial release. But following the success of Final Straw, it eventually went Gold in the UK.

Other releases

Listening Trend

297,312listeners all time
1,803,181scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • rock-star-queen

    Their best album [2]

    18 May 2013 Reply
  • Kittichan

    I should not apologize to say that I love ALL their stuff!!

    28 Jul 2012 Reply
  • lyrik_raydio

    What an interesting album. I have just listened to it and their style is quite different than it is now. A lot more sex-filled angst in their lyrics; definitely more raw and youthful. Hmm...

    24 Jun 2012 Reply
  • prominence_la

    ...hmm. I thought this album was excellent. Loved the raw, abrasive guitars here.

    20 Apr 2012 Reply
  • Bookman1974

    Interesting how much support there is for this debut album: for me it's rather undistinguished, and could be by any one of a number of mediocre bands on the small gigs circuit at the time. I guess that there are bound to be a number of 'early adopter' fans of this, and a few who discovered it after 'Final Straw' and imagine that it's cool to like it, but I think for once a major label did us all a favour by taking them on and adding some polish.

    19 Nov 2011 Reply
  • titimplik03

    chasing cars

    26 Jun 2011 Reply
  • Ruben_noise

    De largo, el mejor disco de toda su carrera.

    7 Jun 2011 Reply
  • angel_clipped

    how bloody fitting is it that the first track name is downhill from here :P Best album by a landslide mates.

    8 Apr 2011 Reply
  • FrenchKoala

    This is such an underrated album, and one of their best. I can't get enough of this and When it's All Over We Still have to Clear up. for some reason now I can't stand their new stuff... /:

    8 Feb 2011 Reply
  • k1012k3

    i gotta say i think this albums flows greatly from 1-23 and for commin out in 98' pretty good

    12 Nov 2010 Reply
  • HandyAndy136

    Sorry to break the flow, but I am a fan of Snow Patrol. However, this album is rendonkulously bad...

    27 Oct 2010 Reply
  • Kellynoso

    I started listening to Snow Patrol with Final Straw, then bought Eyes Open and A Hundred Million Suns, and liked them for a while. Then I bought this album along with When It's All Over We Still Have To Clear Up, and pretty much went, "Whoa... Why am I listening to their new shit?!" Their early stuff is WAY better.

    30 May 2010 Reply
  • foko

    Their best album

    10 Feb 2010 Reply
  • LightsOfBohemia

    Final Straw is still my favourite, but this one is awesome. Days Without Paracetamol <3

    29 Jan 2010 Reply
  • rekoil87

    please play some of this stuff at ward park this year

    7 Jan 2010 Reply
  • decoratiuni

    This is the firtst ambum, right?

    4 Jan 2010 Reply
  • AugustRose86

    One Hundred Things You Should Have Tried In Bed, Get Balsamic Vinegar... Quick You Fool lmao I love the song titles XD

    31 Dec 2009 Reply
  • InweVeneanar

    Their best album. Shame it isn't so well-known...

    14 Sep 2009 Reply
  • Lindaa-ox

    A hundred things you should have done in bed, but you never got the chance to try. </3

    9 Apr 2009 Reply
  • gingerwitch28

    amen to whoever's said this is better than their new stuff. went downhill from Eyes Open and Final Straw wasnt that great either.

    8 Apr 2009 Reply
  • All 48 shouts

Top Listeners