All Hope Is Gone

Roadrunner Records Inc.
Release date
24 Jun 2008
Running length
1 track
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 All Hope Is Gone 4:43 206,112

About this album

All Hope Is Gone is the fourth studio album by American metal band Slipknot. Released on August 20, 2008 by Roadrunner Records, the album was published in two versions: the standard album in a Compact Disc case and a special edition packaged in a six-fold digipak containing three bonus tracks, a 40 page booklet, and a bonus DVD with a documentary of the album’s recording. Preparation for the album began in 2007, while recording started in February 2008 in the band’s home state of Iowa. All Hope Is Gone is Slipknot’s first studio album since 2004’s Vol. 3: (The Subliminal Verses). Before the album’s launch, Slipknot released a series of promotional images and audio samples from the album through various websites. All Hope Is Gone is considered the band’s most eclectic-sounding album, incorporating elements from their previous three. All Hope Is Gone includes their “brutal” edge, such as the track “All Hope Is Gone”, reminiscent of songs such as “(Sic)” from their debut self-titled album; slow burning, “trippy” elements such as “Gehenna”, reminiscent of “Skin Ticket” from their second album Iowa; and acoustics (“Snuff”) and guitar solos (all songs), which were first introduced on Vol. 3: (The Subliminal Verses).

Lyrically, All Hope Is Gone centers on themes such as anger, disaffection, obsession, and the music industry. The album name also features a more prominent focus on politics than their previous albums. Slipknot promoted All Hope Is Gone on a world tour and at the Mayhem Festival. Generally well received by critics, the album reached the top position on nine record charts worldwide, including the Billboard 200—the first Slipknot album to do so.

Other releases

Listening Trend

469,886listeners all time
18,756,479scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • FlorioWork

    Their best

    10 Nov 5:06pm Reply
  • AdamGontier-TDG


    1 Nov 5:13pm Reply
  • horiiz0ns

    HQ PNG cover uploaded:

    1 Nov 12:21pm Reply
  • Mister_Jack

    Not the worst thing ever, I'd say it's just mediocre, too "emolike" for me I'm afraid.

    26 Oct 7:27pm Reply
  • catlitta392

    Still the best Slipknot album thanks to songs like Snuff, Sulfur, Dead Memories or Child of Burning Time. Since I do not consider Slipknot as a real Metal band any more, I think this stuff is good Hard Rock / Alternative Metal with a thick atmosphair and good melodies.

    17 Oct 5:15pm Reply
  • Konkelo-

    This album has grown on me ALOT since it's release!

    2 Sep 11:51am Reply
  • JamesPhillips70

    i've never been able to finish this album to the end it's just not angry enough or sounding like slipknot should, there are a few good songs but not brilliant like anything on subliminal verses, it mostly sucks to be fair, i won't be surprised if it end up on the local Bargain Bucket store shelf for 1 pound, or dollar if you american.

    5 Aug 10:07pm Reply
  • Lextasys

    Gematria is just epic! You can hear and feel the hate in every second of this song! [2]

    27 Jul 8:55am Reply
  • Teppichrasen

    Gematria is just epic! You can hear and feel the hate in every second of this song!

    20 Jul 9:55pm Reply
  • EreTux

    Personally I like this album as their best. I'm not saying the rest albums were garbage (not at all), but this one over here is AWESOME piece of art!!!

    21 Jun 10:09am Reply
  • InSearchOfTruth

    9.3 / 10

    17 Jun 5:55pm Reply
  • bawitback

    this album sucks shit, fuck this [2]

    24 May 8:19pm Reply
  • Uchiha_HyBreeD

    Stone Sour's best album, for sure [2]

    11 Jan 10:26am Reply
  • Caviaris

    this album sucks shit, fuck this

    8 Jan 9:19pm Reply
  • hadomaru

    Pretty good Groove Metal album. probably their best.

    5 Jan 8:27am Reply
  • ramce7878

    This is the album which i listen most of them so it's theyr best

    7 Oct 2013 Reply
  • forfrosne

    Easily their best album IMO. Their heaviest tracks like Gematria, Sulfer, Psychosocial, This Cold Black and All Hope is Gone are slipknot at their absolute finest.

    11 Jul 2013 Reply
  • larm0

    Легенький альбом.Мне нравится.

    5 Jul 2013 Reply
  • KrossPoison

    Under-rated album. The riffs are amazing, This Cold Black for example is a killer. Shame they never play much of it live.

    3 May 2013 Reply
  • Sanity_Theorist

    8 years between...bands change. Very, very good lyrics on this by comparison to the first album.

    2 May 2013 Reply
  • All 348 shouts