Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Slice the Cake


Everyone’s tags

More tags


(2009 – present)

Slice the Cake is a online metal collaboration (or “virtual band”) comprising of three men from three different countries; vocalist Gareth Edwards (England), guitarist/drummer Jonas Johansson (Sweden) and bassist Jack Richardson (Australia). The group combine technical death metal and metalcore with symphonic bits. The band consider themselves a “DIY (do it yourself) band”, having self-produced all their own recordings and cover art.

Starting in 2009 after meeting on the UltimateMetal and Ultimate-Guitar websites, Slice the Cake were originally a two-piece that only included Edwards and Johansson. These two created the original demo for the track “Cleansed”, with Edwards on vocals and Johansson handling guitar, drum programming and production. Later in the same year, Richardson was invited on bass guitar; thus completing the Slice the Cake trio.

Slice the Cake’s debut EP, Cleansed, was released digitally in March 2010. After an exhaustive writing and recording cycle, the band has released their debut full-length record, The Man With No Face on March 1, 2012. The group then released yet another full-length within the same year, Other Slices within December.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

9,498listeners all time
276,410scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • wicker0

    Odyssey to the west will be AOTY Of the year and easily one of the best release in death metal /deathcore for past 3 years. Single drops from new album are fu*king perfect

    23 Jul 11:30am Reply
  • SureIAmDead

    Yeah, I completly feel in love with these guys after Techfest. Prob my favourite Progressive/Technical Death Metal act.

    17 Jul 11:21pm Reply
  • Awfulest

    14 Jul 5:45am Reply
  • Neroese

    "cakecore" xD

    5 Jul 8:07am Reply
  • AkagamiNamikaze

    The City Of Destruction is flawless. And there's still 13 songs left that would be better than the previously released ones... if that's possible.

    23 May 10:23pm Reply
  • Sanity_Theorist

    Was excited for the new album, but it seems like the new album's vocals will be just as indecipherable...still, I give a lot of praise for the album concept. Hopefully they can tour with Ovid's Withering, maybe the vocals would be easier to understand there.

    22 May 7:27pm Reply
  • xVictimOfADownx

    Told you.

    18 Apr 7:55pm Reply
  • cletus77

    WTF, this album has been post-poned ?

    9 Apr 4:25pm Reply
  • Schander

    Well, I'm guessing that's not gonna happen.

    26 Mar 7:21pm Reply
  • xVictimOfADownx

    As a general rule, I don't trust when an album is coming out until pre-orders are purchasable. Since delays are too common.....

    19 Mar 2:41am Reply
  • Schander

    I really hope they're still releasing it this month, or otherwise April 1st.

    5 Mar 11:10pm Reply
  • S1L3nCe

    Actually, the clean vocals of "S&S I. The Mountains of Man" are what makes this song stand out so much. I love them! They sound EPIC :D

    5 Mar 3:49pm Reply
  • FakeYourBro

    Stone And Silver I. The Mountains Of Man with clean vocal but still awesome for me. 10/10

    2 Mar 3:29pm Reply
  • SureIAmDead

    Odyssey To The West can't come soon enough. I really wish it to be an AOTY contender.

    23 Feb 11:46pm Reply
  • cletus77

    So stoked for "Odyssey To The West"

    18 Jan 4:57pm Reply
  • xVictimOfADownx

    Still waiting for pre-order announcements....

    19 Nov 2014 Reply
  • IvetteDT

    Of Gallows<3

    6 Nov 2014 Reply
  • Frostedxflames

    My niggas <3

    30 Oct 2014 Reply
  • xVictimOfADownx

    Nah, they have and still are one of the top progressive deathcore acts there are in my opinion. Nobody quite like them and can't see them becoming irrelevant.

    18 Jun 2014 Reply
  • xGunmetalAngel

    I swear there will be another Internet deathcore band coming this or next year that will steal all of the Slice the Cake and Infant Annihilator fans away. It's almost become like a thing now to start a "band" with people who live in other countries without meeting them.

    14 Jun 2014 Reply
  • All 234 shouts

Top Listeners