Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Silent Paper Radios


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Silent Paper Radios is the solitary song-writing project of Dan Gubbins: a lost soul yearning for an existence on the outskirts of life. A relative novice to the world of Folk music, he previously DJ’d and produced in the field of Electronica, Soul, Funk and early 90’s “Daisy Age” Hip Hop. Feeling restricted by these artistic pursuits and after being spell bound by the beauty of the fast spreading “Weird Folk” movement that was being sewn into the tapestry of his world by the likes of Devendra Banhart and Joanna Newsom in 2005 , he hung up his headphones, picked up a £50 nylon stringed guitar, loaned to him by a family friend and taught himself to play. And while he became intimate with his new love, he also sat for hours brushing up on the visionary poetry of William Blake to get his literary juices flowing.

Putting pen to paper and finally cracking open the shell of his “Threadbare Heart”, the fragile and delicate thoughts of Silent Paper Radios were musically born. With songs about the oppressed bar girls of Thailand (where he resided for a year and a half) – “Butterflies” and a blurred, intertwined argument between a religious person, an Atheist and a Nihilist in “Dinosaur Bones”, he started to develop a consistency to the project known as Reborn As A Wind Chime. Philosophising over questions like the integrity of moral guidance, love and attachment, reality, afterlife and the impermanence but subtle significance of all matter being pondered in “Footprints”.

Top Albums

Listening Trend

885listeners all time
12,175scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • BlueWombat

    Dan, when you sent me The Willow Tree EP, there was a 7th track included called "Awake the Sun". I'm anal retentive when it comes to organizing my music and saw it isn't included as being a part of the EP on this page. I just wanted to make sure it was considered a part of the EP and not something else.

    12 Feb 2010 Reply
  • windchime2009

    Check out my new EP/Mini Album 'The Willow Tree'. It will be available in January. Tell your friends.

    18 Dec 2009 Reply
  • s4lty

    looking forward to some new stuff :)

    12 Oct 2009 Reply
  • MyHeartsBeat

    i think he would be a great opening act for someone like Iron & Wine, Samamidon etc... "get on the road!"

    12 Aug 2009 Reply
  • futuretrunks

    that's good music.

    25 Jul 2009 Reply
  • windchime2009

    If you want to download the full album for the price of fresh air, go to my myspace page and follow the links in my blog - add me as friend if you have not already. - peace, love and freedom. xxx

    18 Jun 2009 Reply
  • M-Area

    Really great music. Melancholically and powerful. Keeps me Thinking of older times. I'm really loving it. Greetz from Germany

    17 Jun 2009 Reply
  • s4lty

    37 listeners yet :P @artist: This is so great, I'm loving it

    7 Jun 2009 Reply
  • windchime2009

    Thanks for all of your comments people and also for setting this up for me. I have updated it with my new LP - Reborn As A Wind Chime - I hope you like it. x

    3 Jun 2009 Reply
  • BrockAtkinson

    Is there an actual order to the demo EP? I try to keep my music collection organized, and this is doing my head in. Still, this artist is relevant to my interests.

    23 May 2009 Reply
  • s4lty

    Jetzt sinds schon 20 Hörer ^^ sehr fein

    17 May 2009 Reply
  • lacrimogeni


    15 May 2009 Reply
  • OChrisO

    free download and review of the demos here

    13 May 2009 Reply
  • OChrisO

    nice :)

    13 May 2009 Reply
  • baphometmsk

    #6 I am

    11 May 2009 Reply