Loading player…

Sergei Rachmaninoff

Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor, Op. 18: II. Adagio sostenuto (11:49)

Adagio sostenuto – Più animato – Tempo I: C minor → E major
The second movement opens with a series of slow chords in the strings which modulate from the C minor of the previous movement to the E major of this movement. The piano enters, playing a simple arpeggiated figure. The main theme is initially introduced by the flute, before being developed by an extensive clarinet solo. The motif is passed between the piano…

read more


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.

  • I still love Rachmaninoff's music
  • beautifully played!
  • That Chopin ripped off Barry Manilow too, well spotted.
  • Eric Carmen's "All By My Self" starts at about 1:57, I swear. One can almost hear ..."When I was young/ I never needed anyone/And making love was just for fun/ Those days are gone..." The only thing that's missing is the climax of "All by myself", but yeah I see where Carmen got his inspiration! I never observed that until now!
  • peacefull...
  • Are you a f***ing doctor at king's college?
  • I love Rachmaninoff's music
  • Romantic, dreamy, amazing...................
  • So ahead of his time ...
  • My favourite 20th century 'classical' composer. Unfairly dismissed in his lifetime and out of fashion, but definitely wonderful.

API Calls