Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Serafina Steer


Everyone’s tags

More tags


In 2007 Serafina released a 7” single and an album entitled Cheap Demo Bad Science on Static Caravan records. Some were recorded and produced in collaboration with Mike Lindsay of folktronica band Tunng, some tracks were recorded with Kristian Robinson aka Capitol K. The album opens with a cover version of Brian Eno’s “By This River” but all other songs are her own.

In 2010 ‘change is good change is good’ was released, again on Static Caravan. Described by Jarvis Cockeras one of his favourite albums of the year and well ‘worth a listen’, this album had struggled into existence as Serafina’s harp was stolen whilst having been left, irresponsibly, in her clapped out old Toyota overnight. With some recordings made before the theft, Benge aka ‘the synth king’, offered up his unique collection of analogue synthesizers to fill in the harp shaped holes. Patrick Wolf described the album in if ‘Stereolab and Shirley Collins made an album together about the trials of 21st-century romance.’

In 2011, Serafina recorded ‘Bloody Hell’ EP with Paul Jones of Stolen Recordings. The EP features two songs from CIGCIG and two new songs and includes the art work of Polly Huggett and RWM Hunt. These totally exposed ‘live’ harp and voice recordings were intended as a watermark, after months without an instrument and then with a new make of harp.

A live recording of her playing songs from her album and an interview discussing comparisons to Joanna Newsom can be seen on the BBC website.[1]


Top Albums

Listening Trend

17,812listeners all time
205,530scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • spagyricus

    Fantastic performance in Glasgow last week!

    26 Apr 2013 Reply
  • puismourir

    The Moths Are Real is the best, most enchanting thing I have heard in a while. And nope, I hear neither Joanna nor Regina.

    3 Apr 2013 Reply
  • dannythompson

    She's kind of like Alan Stivell, but without a beard and not from Brittany. Seriously - it's wonderful, wonderful stuff and I'm glad someone pointed me in her direction. Her new album is the best thing I've heard this year, and I know I'll be listening to it for months. It's also a real treat catching up on her back catalogue; there's some unique and beautiful stuff.

    27 Feb 2013 Reply
  • rincewindsw

    her new album's the best thing I've heard so far this year, really fascinating stuff

    23 Feb 2013 Reply
  • KuriousBanana

    I find it strange that there's no mention here or in Serafina's similar artists of Nancy Elizabeth. They're both English, play harp, and perform a similar style of contemporary, freak folk.

    3 Feb 2013 Reply
  • KateRayearth

    Liking her stuff a lot. I don't really hear the Joanna Newsom or Regina Spektor similarity though.

    1 Feb 2013 Reply
  • Shinigami93

    well she does have a joanna newsom kinda vibe. and regina spektor - and inevitably, a tonne of other female vocalists. but i'm loving the music she's released thus far.

    23 Jan 2013 Reply
  • hatedanddamned

    the new album is amazing ^_^

    20 Jan 2013 Reply
  • KuriousBanana

    Enjoying the new album "The Moths Are Real" [2]

    20 Jan 2013 Reply
  • nigeyb

    Enjoying the new album "The Moths Are Real"...

    15 Jan 2013 Reply
  • Phonophobe

    yeh quite like regina, but odder, more angsty, and more british

    17 Aug 2011 Reply
  • MatheusAgostin

    Reminds me Regina Spektor a bit.

    24 Jun 2011 Reply
  • herkyjerky

    anybody who thinks this sounds like Joanna Newsom is deaf and ignorant... yeah, and glenn gould and thelonius monk are so similar too because they are both men playing piano!

    28 Mar 2011 Reply
  • dicky_t

    Kind of like Joanna Newsom, mixed with Ladytron (2nd album anyway). Brilliant, I love it.

    18 Mar 2011 Reply
  • Phonophobe

    Serafina, your publicity's a mess but I love you anyway

    23 Jan 2011 Reply
  • chemicalBEES369

    Honoured to share a name.

    13 Nov 2010 Reply
  • ExoM7

    chick kicks ass

    9 Oct 2010 Reply
  • scarredforlyfe

    unbelievably unknown. too good to be real.

    12 Aug 2010 Reply
  • mattywuh

    I remember why I liked her so much at Green Man the other year now...

    20 May 2010 Reply
  • Hedvika

    so charming, definitely my favourite!

    23 Apr 2010 Reply
  • All 35 shouts