Morning Bird Records
Release date
27 May 2010
Running length
12 tracks
Running time



    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Prelude 1:57 28
2 Iron Age 3:38 31
3 Sekhmet 5:48 25
4 Foolproof 4:04 0
5 Facts & Figures 3:12 30
6 Messenger 4:31 23
7 The Western Oak Doors 3:43 27
8 Spell 17 4:38 31
9 In the Field of Rushes 3:33 20
10 The Deceiver 4:03 23
11 Prayers 4:22 6
12 Weight 6:28 20

About this album

Sean Renner’s Saint Louis home was the bottom floor of a century-old townhouse in the historic tower grove neighborhood. Its rooms were large, its floors laden with wood, and the walls stretched up to meet the high plastered ceilings. When a note was struck, its rooms sang. Renner has made a name for himself as a gifted self-recording artist, and when he first moved in and heard the sound of instruments in these rooms, he fell in love immediately.

In the spring of 2009, Sean began experimenting with recording in his new home. He had no songs waiting to be recorded; instead, the rooms and the sounds inspired the composition as the recording process unfolded. The emergence of the new compositions paralleled a growing interest in ancient Egyptian history and mythology. As his recording progressed, the music and the folklore became entwined, forming Renner’s most ambitious work to date. Through the music, Renner creates a timeless tale of love, loss, and an immutable struggle with destiny.

Renner continues to define his own unique sound by creating a captivating emotional landscape using a beautiful palate of lush sonic elements; the lyrics and orchestration coalesce to create a rich and engaging world that can only be described as breath-taking. This dense composition is nothing new for Renner, but in almost a complete turn-around from his last release, The Blossoms of Armageddon, Renner has focused on the raw performance of the music. Created entirely using live instrumentation and physical effects, Sekhmet is a true work of art.

Other releases

Listening Trend

Sorry, there was a problem fetching these charts. Please try again in a few minutes.

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.