Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


There are at least sixteen artists named Scythe.
1) Black/Thrash metal band from Chicago, Illinois USA formed in 2011 by ex-Usurper member Rick Scythe.
Their debut album Beware The Scythe was released in 2012 on Primitive Reaction records (EU) and R.I.P. records (US). Their follow up full-length Subterranean Steel was released 2013 as CD on Primitve Reaction records and as tape cassette on Serpent Eve records. They are active.
Rick Scythe - Vocals, Guitar (NightShade, ex-Usurper)
Dan Geist - Bass (Nightshade)

Joey Contreras - Drums, Backing Vocals (ex-Mordrid)
Tim Pearson - Drums (Deathcult,ex-Mordrid,Relentless)

2) SCYTHE is a from Germany, was formed in the spring of 1994. Following several years of writing songs and making small numbers of demo tapes, the first step towards something concrete came in 1999 with the release of the “Last Eclipse” demo. The next demo “Silent Is The Future” was released in 2001. The 2 member band progressed as songwriters and musicians by the time they embarked on the writing and recording of their debut full length entitled “On My Way Home” which was released in 2002 by indie label Witches Brew. SCYTHE wasted no time and got working right away on material for the next album, “Poetry Of Illusions”, which saw a release in 2003 on the same label.

When 2004 rolled around, it was time to celebrate the band’s 10th year anniversary with the release of “The Process Of Rotting” in July 2004 and contained re-recorded demo songs from the past, documenting the roots of the band which always remained in oldschool Death Metal combined with melodic atmosphere.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

3,081listeners all time
36,177scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • CaminhoErrado

    12 Mar 9:08pm Reply
  • versionfiv

    chicago black/thrash scythe all the way ... progressive metal is sissy bs.

    15 Dec 2014 Reply
  • BarbarianWrath

    Tick... tock... tick... tock... Time's ticking away on our Samhain sale. We're roughly 9 hours into this and the club-hooved Witch already aquired enough orders for me to spend half of next week in line at the post office *groan* Remember, all CDs released by BARBARIAN WRATH, WITCHES BREW and NAZGULS EYRIE are only 6.66 EUR until Midnight CET today. 15 hours to goat as of right now ! 6.66 EUR = 8.38 USD = 5.24 GBP = 9.50 AUD = 931 JPY = 20 BRL Order right now @

    31 Oct 2014 Reply
  • BarbarianWrath

    It's time for some serious Spring Cleaning in the glorified office we like to call our "warehouse". It's 40 % off on pretty much everything so now would be the prefect time to go forth and complete your WITCHES BREW and BARBARIAN WRATH collections. Support the Underground and share this to the ends of the Earth and beyond the Gates of Hell !

    9 Mar 2014 Reply
  • lordgorefreak

    awesome old school!!!

    29 Apr 2013 Reply
  • DaruJericho

    Is it true the German Scythe broke up? Can't find any links about it on the Internet besides MA.

    3 Apr 2013 Reply
  • choosemetal

    Rick Scythe from Usurper's "Scythe" is the best!!

    12 Mar 2013 Reply
  • Rowolta

    Sounds like the continuation of Usurper, quite nice in fact.

    19 Dec 2012 Reply
  • Groovcio

    "Bleed To Death" sounds like "Sentenced To Burn" by Cannibal Corpse

    7 Apr 2012 Reply
  • companerotoledo

    I think they like cannibal corpse a lot...

    6 Aug 2011 Reply
  • chatterer

    ...and electro-industrial from Germany,

    27 May 2011 Reply
  • Worm-Infested

    got the new one!!

    3 Jun 2010 Reply
  • Worm-Infested

    hopefully i'll be getting the new one at MDF!

    21 May 2010 Reply
  • Witches-Brew

    New SCYTHE out now + special SCYTHE sale ! The new SCYTHE, Season Of The Tall Pines has arrived !! ORDER NOW ! Plus, fill in the gaps of your SCYTHE discography, all older SCYTHE releases only 6 Euros for a limited time ! This special only available when ordering from either link below. Germans order here: Everyone else:

    15 Apr 2010 Reply
  • Witches-Brew

    Entire new album streaming here:

    27 Feb 2010 Reply
  • Worm-Infested

    really psyched for the new one...sounds like a change in sound yet again (less heavy, but more textural?). my one problem with Decay was probably (if i had to find fault with it) the similarity of the structures of most of the first few songs, and the similarities of the structures in the last part of the album. it has a definite straightforward flow which is kind of damaging. i can't wait to hear how the new one flows.

    22 Feb 2010 Reply
  • Witches-Brew

    2 MP3s and artwork from the new SCYTHE now available: (you don't need to be registered on the forum to check the link)

    22 Feb 2010 Reply
  • Witches-Brew

    New album, Season Of The Tall Pines, sent off to print !!!

    22 Feb 2010 Reply
  • Andyboy92

    Could someone please link to a download for the process of rotting. I cant find anywhere. :) Im really grateful!

    13 Feb 2010 Reply
  • Rain0129

    lol you sir have just discredited yourself. job for a cowboy and talent are never to be said in the same sentence.

    19 Jan 2010 Reply
  • All 61 shouts

Top Listeners