Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Scorpion Child


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Scorpion Child is a hard rock band from Austin, Texas, formed in 2006.

Scorpion Child aka “The Child” is composed of Aryn Jonathan Black (vocals, Christopher Jay Cowart (lead guitar), Tom “The Mole” Frank (rhythm guitar), Shaun Avants (bass) and Shawn Alvear (drums). Signed to German-based independent label Nuclear Blast Entertainment, the group released their self-titled debut album in 2013, which was produced, recorded, and arranged by Grammy-nominated producer Chris “Frenchie” Smith.

“The Child” is commonly categorized as early 1970s Krautrock and Psychedelic rock with a modern heavy metal twist and is heavily influenced by groups such as Rainbow, Pentagram, and Lucifer’s Friend.
The self-titled album by “The Child” debuted at #26 on the Billboard Heatseekers chart & #99 on the Hard Music Album chart. The single “Polygon of Eyes” off the LP was the iTunes “SINGLE OF THE WEEK” for the week of June 25, 2013. Scorpion Child have since been nominated in 2013 as the “Best New Band” for Classic Rock Magazine’s “Classic Rock Roll Of Honour.”

The group have performed in a wide range of music festivals including:
South by Southwest (Tuesday, March 13, 2012)
Rock on the Range (Saturday, May 18, 2013)
Rocklahoma (Sunday, May 26, 2013)
Mayhem Festival Headliner for the Sumerian Records Stage (June 29, 2013 - August 4, 2013)
Shiprocked (January 26–30, 2014)


Top Albums

Listening Trend

7,794listeners all time
75,574scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.