Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Schnell Fenster


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Melbourne, Australia (1986 – 1992)

Schnell Fenster was a Melbourne-based band, formed in 1986 by members of Split Enz after the break up of that band. Tentatively named “The Wanx”, the band selected their name (which is German for “fast window”), because it “appealed to perversity”.

The band also formed the core of the members of “Noel’s Cowards”, an ensemble whose only output was six tracks on the Rikky and Pete movie soundtrack in 1988.

Line up:
Phil Judd (guitar,trumpet,keyboards and vocals)
Nigel Griggs (bass guitar)
Noel Crombie (drums and percussion)

Michael Den Elzen (guitars(inc. gtr synth & fretless gtr),keyboards)
Enz keyboardist Eddie Rayner was a member of the early line-up, under the name “The Wanx”.

Noel’s Cowards consisted of the above members, plus Wendy Matthews (vocals), Michael Harris (fiddle), Louis McManus (mandolin) and Vika Bull & Lisa Edwards (backing vocals).

Schnell Fenster released The Sound of Trees in 1988. The band played in Australia and also toured New Zealand in 1989 as support act for Crowded House. Renewed interest in Split Enz led to an American album release later that year, but with no tour and little record company support, the album did not chart well. Their second album; OK Alright A Huh Oh Yeah was released in 1990. Band tensions and Crombie’s worsening tinnitus led to the break up of the Fensters in 1992.

Top Albums

Listening Trend

266listeners all time
8,048scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners