The Inevitable Rise and Liberation of Niggy Tardust

Fader Label
Running length
20 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Black History Month 3:16 40,434
2 Convict Colony 3:25 37,679
3 Tr(n)igger 3:53 36,105
4 Sunday Bloody Sunday 4:04 44,270
5 Break 3:17 36,261
6 Niggy Tardust 3:35 4,223
7 DNA 4:08 31,891
8 WTF! 5:27 34,162
9 Scared Money 3:47 30,306
10 Raw 2:50 27,781
11 Skin of a Drum 3:56 29,138
12 No One Ever Does 3:17 28,358
13 Banged and Blown Through 3:41 28,688
14 Raised to Be Lowered 5:21 26,546
15 The Ritual 5:19 24,955
16 Pedagogue of Young Gods 3:17 4,731
17 World on Wheels 1:27 4,623
18 Can't Hide Love 2:27 4,112
19 Gunshots By Computer 1:43 2,785
20 List of Demands (Reparations) 3:17 66,012

About this album

The Inevitable Rise and Liberation of NiggyTardust! is the third album by Saul Williams, released on November 1, 2007. Williams worked closely with Trent Reznor on the album. The title of the album is a reference to David Bowie’s 1972 album The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars. Many of the album’s lyrics were adapted from poetry in Williams’ 2006 book The Dead Emcee Scrolls: The Lost Teachings of Hip-Hop.

The album was available for purchase or free download at The website allowed users to pay $5 to support the artist and be given the choice of downloading a 192kbit/s MP3 version, 320kbit/s MP3 version or lossless FLAC version. Digital distribution of the album is provided by Musicane. Reznor publicised the album on the Nine Inch Nails website and mailing list, saying that “Saul’s not the household name (yet!) that Radiohead is” and urging fans to support him. This was a reference to Radiohead’s In Rainbows, which was released in October on the band’s own website with customers choosing how much they want to pay for the album. The free option has since been removed, with the website claiming they intended to remove it after 100,000 free downloads of the album all along.

Those who download the album directly from the site for free receive all 15 tracks, a jpeg of the album’s cover, and the album booklet/lyric sheets in PDF. Additionally, the lyrics for each track are embedded using ID3 tags, allowing for their viewing in supported media players.

Other releases

Listening Trend

27,217listeners all time
215,695scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • drlarrymitchell

    When I say 'Niggy,' you say nothin'."

    5 Jul 2013 Reply
  • Soundservant

    how come all the posts are for the wrong tag, even though this has less plays?

    11 May 2011 Reply
  • jamesusillxd

    The right album title is: The Inevitable Rise and Liberation of NiggyTardust! [2] But fucking amazing album nonetheless.

    30 Oct 2010 Reply
  • benthepirate

    meh... i really couldn't get into it. it's hard to listen to saul over this type of music. i've listened to it twice and i just don't like it.

    23 Jul 2010 Reply
  • JeroenKlomp

    It's tagged The Inevitable Rise and Liberation of NiggyTardust! (447,422 plays (20,911 listeners). srsly ;-)

    14 Mar 2010 Reply
  • sm4ears

    the future of hip hop? epic stuff!!

    7 Dec 2009 Reply
  • lusion01

    the first five tracks really took it for me.

    10 Jun 2009 Reply
  • nightingal3

    Incredible album; Williams + Reznor + Moulder ftw

    12 May 2009 Reply
  • Crazyredivan

    I am pleasantly surprised by this album- I didn't think it would grab me the way it did.

    24 Mar 2009 Reply

    great album

    24 Feb 2009 Reply
  • smlak

    God, what an album! Just listened to it all the way through for the first time.. Basically no weak tracks and atleast four of them gave me goosebumps. Amazing.

    19 Feb 2009 Reply
  • JohnLithium

    It is, but won't scrobble as such. :(

    12 Nov 2008 Reply
  • master-pony

    the right album title is: The Inevitable Rise and Liberation of NiggyTardust!

    25 Oct 2008 Reply
  • Ziggy-Dust

    funniest album name ever

    6 Oct 2008 Reply
  • processrebel

    More music like this needs to be actually created! This is one of the best albums to come out in my lifetime and I believe it's influence will be monumental in this world and others.

    17 Sep 2008 Reply
  • Kruppo

    This is the kind of music that needs to be released to the public more often...

    15 Aug 2008 Reply
  • Scott_Green

    it's a bonus track on the physical release, i think

    26 Jul 2008 Reply
  • Knifymoloko

    True. And what was the purpose for including List of Demands? That belongs on the S/T.

    20 Jul 2008 Reply
  • abeoisbunk

    theres an "!" at the end of the title...

    17 Jul 2008 Reply
  • All 21 shouts

Top Listeners