Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


Berlin- munich based trio Saroos read a lot of sci-fi, so it should come as little surprise that the music they make sounds downright otherworldly. Florian Zimmer (Iso68, Jersey), Christoph Brandner (Lali Puna, Console) and Max Punktezahl (the Notwist, Contriva) are as much scientists as they are composers and instrumentalists — they’re obsessed with sound as particles in motion, and devoted to creating stylistic collisions that pop as much as they probe.

The group’s 2006 self-titled debut was released quietly by the Notwist’s Alien Transistor label in 2006, but the break-steeped post-rock and electronica contained therein showcased Zimmer and Brandner’s ear for Two Lone Swordsmen-meets-Slint experimentation. Anticon’s Alias even stopped by for a collaboration, on the song “During this Course,” and Punktezahl ended up joining when Saroos hit the road with his better-known band.

Knowledge both arcane and empirical suggests power in threes, so it makes sense that the band has hit its stride since. In 2009, Saroos covered post-punk legend Graeme Jefferies for Morr Music’s Not Given Lightly compilation, a tribute to the obscure but excellent ’80s New Zealand alt-rock scene. Later that year, they got to work on a stunning second album, See Me Not, which finds cLOUDDEAD’s Odd Nosdam in the role of producer and unofficial fourth member.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

12,822listeners all time
96,355scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • nogenepool

    Oh without a doubt; Return is fantastic. How can we get it up on the album list?

    5 Dec 2014 Reply
  • Ciche007

    Return is an awesome album. Probably my second favorite album of 2013, can't stop listening to it. Seadance, in particular, is breathtaking.

    17 Feb 2014 Reply
  • AlienTransistor

    Hello everybody saroos have just released their 3rd album 'return' , and "it´s a detailed beauty beyond any style flag and categorization". (The LP includes the mp3 version of the album.) You can place yourn orders here:

    21 Sep 2013 Reply
  • AlienTransistor

    Saroos have been busy recording their new album and in advance we´ll release a limited Ep with 6 tracks (250 copies will be made) It`s a little glimpse on the new album, as it will feature 3 new songs and we´re more than excited for having them teamed up with Schlachthofbronx who mixed one song . Also they collaborated with the fabulous band Fenster. Besides this you´ll find songs that you might knew like the collaboration with LIFE & LIMB which was already released digital via Bad Panda Records. And: finally the fantastic remixes by Thomas Knak // Opiate (yukoma) and Dax Pierson (fog people) and will find their way onto vinyl. Ready to be mastered this week. Then we only have to wait that the guys get it printed in time for their trip to italy in march. 06.03.2013 — Rome (IT) — Le Mura Musicbar 07.03.2013 — Caserta (Napoli) (IT) — Teatro 08.03.2013 — Cusano Milanino (IT) — Agora 09.03.2013 — Prato (IT) — Black Out 10.03.2013 — Ferrara (IT) — Zuni

    15 Jan 2013 Reply
  • Dr_MoonOrGun

    I'd drive at least 100 miles to see you guys play.

    9 Jul 2011 Reply
  • AlienTransistor

    in case you have not heard this ...please check

    30 Jun 2011 Reply
  • AlienTransistor

    to tour the states... thinking about it ...but its an expensive thing to do

    30 Jun 2011 Reply
  • thackattack09

    Come to the states! Your music is awesome

    27 Jun 2011 Reply
  • Insomniasaur

    v Oh man, Europe is being spoiled.

    2 May 2011 Reply
  • AlienTransistor

    Saroos will tour together with 13&God the following days... seems to be some kind of label tour this spring! 17.05.2011 — Cologne (DE) — Gebaeude 9 (w/ Saroos) 18.05.2011 — Amsterdam (NL) — Paradiso (w/ Saroos) 19.05.2011 — Leuven (BE) — Stuk (w/ Saroos) 20.05.2011 — Lille (FR) — Aeronef (w/ Saroos) 21.05.2011 — Paris (FR) — Maroquinierie (w/ Saroos) 22.05.2011 — Frankfurt a.M. (DE) — Bett (w/ Saroos) 23.05.2011 — Berlin (DE) — Lido (w/ Saroos)

    13 Apr 2011 Reply
  • lamane52

    Dans le top 20 albums 2010 Over Scene

    10 Feb 2011 Reply
  • Dr_MoonOrGun

    Oh snap, that's awesome news.

    14 Jan 2011 Reply
  • AlienTransistor

    Saroos asked friends and artists like populous, opiate and dax pierson if they´d be up in doing a remix and ...the nice folks at XLR8R offer the "yukoma" remix by populous. go and grab it here ...hopefully on vinyl as well later this year!

    11 Jan 2011 Reply
  • Dr_MoonOrGun

    Proving to be a pretty sweet soundtrack for driving to and fro on snowy days.

    9 Dec 2010 Reply
  • rantunespud

    Great New Album!!

    5 Dec 2010 Reply
  • Insomniasaur

    See Me Not is verrrrryyyy good.

    11 Nov 2010 Reply
  • Insomniasaur

    Yesss, new album Nov. 9th

    15 Oct 2010 Reply
  • Dr_MoonOrGun

    Diggin the new track, diggin the anticon release. Stoked to hear the full album, but I'm afraid it might be a sleeper for some people, and from what I've heard so far, that would be a shame.

    30 Sep 2010 Reply
  • AlienTransistor

    XLR8R offers a new song to download from the upcoming saroos album. go grab it !

    23 Sep 2010 Reply
  • AlienTransistor

    SEE ME NOT: it's taken a little time but we are very happy to announce that the new album will be released in November 2010. For our second album we found a creative and open mind with odd nosdaM. He became some kind of temporary/fourth member as he joined us in sept 2009 with his distressors and a fine selection of records and a sp 1200 for a couple of hefeweizen beers, while we recorded at the alien research studio. And we were even more lucky, because we came to berkeley on jan 1st 2010 for additional recordings and mixing the album. And at studio burnco another hefeweizen connoisseur named jel put his hands on nosdaM´s sp12 and laid down some great beats. Can't remember a year starting better concerning music. The album then was finally mixed by odd nosdam. "See Me Not" sees its release via Anticon in the States and Japan, and on the Notwist’s Alien Transistor elsewhere. And we'll tour again later this year! Thanks for your time!

    8 Sep 2010 Reply
  • All 31 shouts

Top Listeners