Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window

Rise Against


Everyone’s tags

More tags


Chicago, United States (1999 – present)

Rise Against are a / band from Chicago, Illinois. Formed in 1999, and originally performing under the name Transistor Revolt, they released a self-produced demo entitled Transistor Revolt in 2000, a year before signing with Fat Wreck Chords to release their first two albums, The Unraveling in 2001, and Revolutions Per Minute in 2003. They later switched to Dreamworks Records and recorded their album Siren Song of the Counter Culture. However, Universal Music Group took over Dreamworks Records and Rise Against finally found themselves on Geffen Records, a Universal Music Group subsidiary, releasing Siren Song of the Counter Culture in August 2004. A re-issued version of The Unraveling was released on August 23, 2005 through Fat Wreck Chords. They released their 4th studio album entitled “The Sufferer and The Witness” on July 4th 2006.

Rise Against’s original lineup consisted of Tim McIlrath (vocals and guitar), Joe Principe (bass and vocals, formerly from 88-Fingers Louie), Brandon Barnes (drums), and Mr.Precision (guitar and vocals), and recorded its debut album with renowned punk producer Mass Giorgini. Mr. Precision left the band in 2001 and was replaced by Todd Mohney, the guitarist of McIlrath’s side project The Killing Tree. Shortly after the band signed with Geffen, Mohney left and was replaced by Chris Chasse.


Top Albums


Add event

Listening Trend

1,851,269listeners all time
127,687,316scrobbles all time
#142 in last week’s chart
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • Meaufeau

    Siren Song of the Counter Culture is still my all-time favorite RA album :)

    23 Nov 9:27pm Reply
  • Hate_Worldwide

    The Sufferer And The Witness > all other punk rock albums

    22 Nov 12:25pm Reply
  • StrangePooP

    Absolutely amazing live.

    20 Nov 7:03pm Reply
  • len_i

    Hehe, only a few days left to their show in Berlin. I'm so excited :D :D :D

    15 Nov 9:30pm Reply
  • Top-Display

    When to Ukraine? For example Kyiv.

    4 Nov 4:00pm Reply
  • Pezable

    The new album is golden... <3

    30 Oct 6:36am Reply
  • mmmkozzi

    Rise against wymiata!

    27 Oct 5:07pm Reply
  • Luky7

    join group [b]Trap Nation[/b]

    22 Oct 11:24pm Reply
  • edijs023

    Tragedy+Time.. a special song.

    20 Oct 3:41pm Reply
  • Inigoamo

    Tried to listen to The Black Market, immediately got hooked on The Great Die-off.

    16 Oct 11:31am Reply
  • redfan978

    RA turned from great punk to buttrock. But hey, its great buttrock.

    13 Oct 3:57am Reply
  • Axxida

    Why all the hate for endgame? it was a fantastic album [2]

    10 Oct 6:01am Reply
  • Coolbutlame

    Really? I actually thought that The Black Market was the most consistent album since RPM and the best since Sufferer and the Witness. Plenty of moments actually remind me of those two albums, and this is streets ahead of the last two in content and lyricism.

    9 Oct 6:30am Reply
  • zahuskowicz


    7 Oct 2:47pm Reply
  • Scream-Aim-Fire

    I <3 this band!!!

    7 Oct 12:45pm Reply
  • Nevan_VcF

    They have been slowly dying since Chris left...

    6 Oct 4:38pm Reply
  • joshactive

    Tried to listen to the black market, immediately had to change to revolutions per minute [6]

    4 Oct 5:14am Reply
  • Gyoshimaru

    i like those guitars

    27 Sep 1:35pm Reply
  • feniks0991

    Come to Russia, PLEASE...

    24 Sep 4:02pm Reply
  • Kommerzgollum

    Tried to listen to the black market, immediately had to change to revolutions per minute [5]

    24 Sep 2:24pm Reply
  • All 9307 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners