Broken China

Running length
16 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Breaking Water 2:27 26,003
2 Night of a Thousand Furry Toys 4:21 24,960
3 Hidden Fear 3:26 18,399
4 Runaway 3:59 21,384
5 Unfair Ground 2:20 22,827
6 Satellite 4:05 20,736
7 Woman of Custom 3:43 11,217
8 Interlude 1:16 31,007
9 Black Cloud 3:18 10,696
10 Far from the Harbour Wall 6:07 10,155
11 Drowning 1:37 22,317
12 Reaching for the Rail 6:29 19,040
13 Blue Room in Venice 2:47 9,583
14 Sweet July 4:11 11,181
15 Along the Shoreline 4:35 9,119
16 Breakthrough 4:18 20,481

About this album

Broken China is a progressive rock solo album released by Pink Floyd keyboard player Richard Wright in 1996. It is a four-part concept album which documents his then wife Mildred’s battle with depression, and is very much like a classic Pink Floyd concept album in its structure and overall feel. Two songs, “Reaching for the Rail” and “Breakthrough” feature Sinéad O’Connor on lead vocals, with Wright singing elsewhere. The album was recorded in Wright’s personal studio in France. Broken China was only Wright’s second solo record after 1978’s “Wet Dream” and the last to be released before his death in September 2008.

Wright asked fellow Pink Floyd bandmate David Gilmour to perform on the album, to which Gilmour agreed to play one track. However, the approach for the song was changed later on, and Gilmour’s performance was not used on the finished album.

On the DVD David Gilmour in Concert, a guest appearance is made by Wright, who sings “Breakthrough” accompanied by David Gilmour and his band.

The packaging has artwork by Pink Floyd’s regular designer, Storm Thorgerson, in his familiar style.

Listening Trend

114,557listeners all time
584,801scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • oddlay

    This is my favorite album ever. No exaggeration.

    2 Dec 2011 Reply
  • Vigridr

    Very nice love this record and its concept.

    15 Jun 2011 Reply
  • D-I-N

    Controversial, but....I think I would rather this have been a floyd album than the division bell.

    2 Nov 2010 Reply
  • Priest_Loins

    Very good albom, nice atmosphere and awesome songs.

    29 Jul 2010 Reply
  • rotting_schntzl

    nothing progressive here.

    19 May 2010 Reply
  • phazvid

    ay mama!!!!!

    7 May 2010 Reply
  • Jairuin


    21 Aug 2009 Reply
  • alvareo

    Very well said DasT-101. Besides, people, this album was written by Rick to his then-girlfriend, afterwards wife, who suffered from depression on that time. Please read the lyrics and associate them with the expressions on Rick's and Sinéad's voices, and OPEN YOUR MIND AND DON'T BE IGNORANT!

    10 Jul 2009 Reply
  • DasT-101

    Sometimes it's good idea to listen something 'boring' once more, trying to understand what an author wanted to say. Sometimes people listen but don't hear.

    27 Mar 2009 Reply
  • drviolinist

    for PF solo albums, i think the pros and cons of hitch hiking is the best, and this is definitely the most boring.

    9 Mar 2009 Reply
  • Blvtmond

    Amazing album so far!

    1 Jan 2009 Reply
  • mooey-moo-moo

    Pino Palladino plays some great bass. 12 years old and this album still sounds fresh.

    7 Dec 2008 Reply
  • alvareo

    the 4th part is the best one

    16 Sep 2008 Reply
  • Arthur_Dent_42

    correction: it's boring as hell !!!

    2 Aug 2008 Reply
  • Arthur_Dent_42

    slightly boring....

    2 Aug 2008 Reply
  • captainpacific

    Sinead O'Connor is the vocalist on Breakthrough

    23 Oct 2007 Reply
  • Floydholisti

    Who's singing in Breakthrought, anyone know?

    16 Oct 2007 Reply
  • groeni

    I like the track breaking water

    12 Jul 2007 Reply
  • OneWorldDestiny

    best PF solo album right after amused to death, i love this one

    22 Mar 2007 Reply

Top Listeners