Discover New Music is a music discovery service that gives you personalised recommendations based on the music you play.

Start your profile Close window



Everyone’s tags

More tags


England, United Kingdom (1994 – 2001, 2008 – present)

Republica are an band formed in 1994 in England, United Kingdom. The group consists of Samantha Sprackling (aka Saffron, vocals), Tim Dorney (keyboards), Johnny Male (guitars) and Pete Riley (drums). Other members have been Andy Todd (keyboards), David Barbarossa (drums), Alix Tiernan (percussion) and Mick Pirie (bass). The Republica sound was described by the band as “techno-pop punk rock”.

Former Flowered Up keyboard player Tim Dorney and Andy Todd founded Republica. Saffron was born in 3 June 1968 in Ibadan, Nigeria. She was an actress at one point, performing for two years in London’s Starlight Express. She also appeared in the video for the Chesney Hawkes’ hit “The One and Only” and in the video for N-Joi’s single “Mindflux”. Saffron was also lead vocalist on N-Joi’s hit “Anthem” in 1990.

Republica released the first single “Out of This World” in 1994, followed by the single “Bloke” in January 1995.

Their debut album Republica was released in July 1996 and reached #4 in the charts. The single “Ready to Go” peaked at #13 in UK Singles Chart. “Ready To Go” also became the band’ signature song. The fourth single “Drop Dead Gorgeous” ranked #7 in UK Singles Chart.

In 1997 Saffron performed vocals for The Prodigy’s “Fuel My Fire” from their album The Fat of the Land.


Top Albums

Listening Trend

227,414listeners all time
1,431,128scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Start scrobbling and track your listening history users scrobble the music they play in iTunes, Spotify, Rdio and over 200 other music players.

Create a profile


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Top Listeners