Warner Bros.
Release date
20 Mar 2006
Running length
15 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Around the World 3:58 711,461
2 Parallel Universe 4:30 730,889
3 Scar Tissue 3:37 1,208,807
4 Otherside 4:15 1,192,057
5 Get on Top 3:18 470,257
6 Californication 5:21 1,378,141
7 Easily 3:51 516,247
8 Porcelain 2:43 431,722
9 Emit Remmus 4:00 400,461
10 I Like Dirt 2:37 395,724
11 This Velvet Glove 3:45 430,691
12 Savior 4:52 372,153
13 Purple Stain 4:13 392,211
14 Right on Time 1:52 380,382
15 Road Trippin' 3:25 639,960

About this album

Californication is the seventh studio album by American alternative rock band Red Hot Chili Peppers, released on June 8, 1999 on Warner Bros. Records. Produced by Rick Rubin, Californication marked the return of John Frusciante, who had previously appeared on Mother’s Milk and Blood Sugar Sex Magik, to replace Dave Navarro as the band’s guitarist. Frusciante’s return was credited with changing the band’s sound altogether. The record was a notable shift in style from what was produced with Navarro. The album’s subject material incorporated various sexual innuendos commonly associated with the band, and introduced themes of lust, death, contemplations of suicide, and drugs.

Californication produced several hits for the band, including “Otherside”, “Californication” and the Grammy Award-winning “Scar Tissue”. Californication peaked at number three on the U.S. Billboard 200. It is the Chili Peppers’ most commercially successful album to date, selling more than fifteen million copies worldwide; a revitalization in comparison to their previous album, One Hot Minute. The record marked a change in style for the band; Rolling Stone’s Greg Tate noted that “while all previous Chili Peppers projects have been highly spirited, Californication dares to be spiritual and epiphanic.”

Other releases

Listening Trend

1,922,346listeners all time
38,676,267scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • sdaffis

    Ashamed to admit I only recently discovered this great album. Have to agree about the loudness though, it's awful.

    20 Aug 7:05am Reply
  • Feeeeeeellzinho


    19 Aug 6:16pm Reply
  • werty36

    Look for 2014 unofficial remaster. It's pretty good. The way album should sound from the begining.

    19 Aug 12:40pm Reply
  • TylerSymes

    If the mastering wasn't so bad this would have more plays from me/a higher RYM raiting.

    13 May 1:37am Reply
  • VadiushaKomarov

    rating 10/10

    24 Apr 5:54am Reply
  • minoesj

    Thanks to my brother, this was my first introduction to rock music. Great record, containing some undisputable classics!

    18 Apr 11:57am Reply
  • Killtecc

    the louder the better, so shut up

    4 Apr 11:07pm Reply
  • eric_montana

    And to think there is more than 15 million copies of this album circulating around with it being so poorly produce. -______-

    18 Feb 12:25am Reply
  • golova2yxa

    the best!!!

    19 Jan 7:03pm Reply
  • AnAgeAmongThem

    The production on this is bad but still a fab album.

    29 Dec 2013 Reply
  • Vincent____Vega


    26 Nov 2013 Reply
  • Arthur_Dent_42 Database about the dynamic range of thousands of albums. Who's fallen casualty to and who survived the so called Loudness War? Find out for yourself. ;) Some brilliant and essential educational stuff on that for every musiclover important topic: and

    20 Nov 2013 Reply
  • sls

    I long for the day when someone will take one of the most awesome albums ever released and transfer it properly off the tapes... too bad MFSL doesn't exist anymore

    13 Nov 2013 Reply
  • clintbeed6793

    Fucking loudness war completely ruined the sound. Everything is too loud and there are no good dynamics. If this was remastered with a proper mix it would be even better!

    11 Nov 2013 Reply
  • TylerSymes

    @EpicGeeza36 I do hope you are trolling about impressive sound quality.

    7 Nov 2013 Reply
  • jvrgarrid

    si hay alguien que tiene "dudas" sobre esta banda, sólo tienen que oir este gran disco.

    31 Aug 2013 Reply
  • dAdriano


    29 Aug 2013 Reply
  • EpicGeeza36

    Their best, impressive sound quality, great album to listen to in the summer, I can't really fault it

    25 Jul 2013 Reply
  • halo_dm2

    Will ever Warner remaster this album PROPERLY? GREAT MUSIC BUT POOR SOUND QUALITY.

    21 Jul 2013 Reply
  • Hansori

    Happy 14th, Californication! [2]

    9 Jul 2013 Reply
  • All 385 shouts