The Works

Hollywood Records
Release date
7 Feb 2012
Running length
15 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Radio Ga Ga 5:44 482,058
2 Tear It Up 3:25 82,207
3 It's a Hard Life 4:08 238,101
4 Man On The Prowl 3:26 44,562
5 Machines (Or Back To Humans) 5:07 9,474
6 I Want to Break Free 4:18 604,586
7 Keep Passing The Open Windows 5:21 44,683
8 Hammer to Fall 4:26 278,285
9 Is This The World We Created...? 2:14 21,407
1 I Go Crazy (B-Side) 3:44 844
2 I Want To Break Free (Single Remix) 4:18 1,100
3 Hammer To Fall (Headbanger's Mix) 5:18 1,139
4 Is This The World We Created...? (Live in Rio, January 1985) 3:03 728
5 It's A Hard Life (Live in Rio, January 1985) 4:26 805
6 Thank God It's Christmas (Non-Album Single) 4:22 856

About this album

The Works is a 1984 rock album by English band Queen. The band’s eleventh studio album, it marked a partial return to their rock roots, although with a much lighter approach. It has also the heaviest electronics amongst all group albums. In comparison, rock was mostly absent on their previous effort Hot Space giving room to dance and funk with the use of analogue synths and brass, while electronics were not that much present.

Recorded at the Record Plant Studios and Musicland Studios from August 1983 to January 1984, the album’s title comes from a comment drummer Roger Taylor made as recording began – “Let’s give them the works!”

This was the first Queen album to be featured on Compact Disc.

Following the release of and subsequent touring for their 1982 album Hot Space, the four members of Queen opted to take a break from the band the following year, indulging in solo projects and taking the chance to stretch in individual directions. While a spring tour of South America had been an early possibility, especially following the band’s success there two years prior, equipment and promotional problems brought an end to these plans.[1] Brian May worked with Eddie Van Halen and others on the Star Fleet Project, while Freddie Mercury began work on his solo album. By August 1983, however, the band had reunited and began work on their eleventh studio album. It would be Queen’s first album for EMI (and its United States affiliate Capitol Records) worldwide after the band nullified its recording deal with Elektra for the United States, Canada, Australia and Japan.

Other releases

Listening Trend

226,144listeners all time
2,077,998scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.

Listening Now

Top Listeners