Fire Records
Release date
1 Jan 1983
Running length
8 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 My Lighthouse 3:29 22,303
2 Wishful Thinking 4:17 23,529
3 Joking Aside 4:19 13,089
4 Boats and Trains 1:33 12,903
5 Blue Girls 5:54 16,147
6 Love Love 3:08 12,782
7 In Many Ways 2:45 12,032
8 Looking for Life 5:26 11,598

About this album

Produced by Simon Hinkler
Label Red Rhino
Released April 1983
UK Chart n/a

Notes Pulp’s debut - a folky, pastoral, acoustic affair with only Jarvis Cocker present from the current line-up. Simon Hinkler went on to join The Mission. Drummer Wilson was borrowed from fellow Sheffield act Artery.

Jarvis Cocker - vocals, guitars Simon Hinkler - guitars David Hinkler - piano, keyboards, trombone Peter Boam - bass Garry Wilson - drums, percussion Saskia Cocker -backing vocals

Other releases

Listening Trend

29,473listeners all time
295,968scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • furs_of1

    лучший палповский альбом

    26 Apr 2012 Reply
  • pukirocks


    7 Dec 2011 Reply
  • Tony_Tone


    11 Mar 2011 Reply
  • rogueofmv

    It's amazing to think that this came out even before The Smiths' first album. It's got the blueprints for 90s indie pop written all over it.

    9 Aug 2010 Reply
  • neckermanncj

    holy crap! I heard Different Class before this album and this is like Pulp do Indie Pop! THIS IS JUST LOVELY! HOLY CRAP!

    3 Aug 2010 Reply
  • paulamaulaj

    totally agree with timahall. but all you've mentioned are fantastic!!

    1 Dec 2009 Reply
  • tomthemod

    this one seems rather scott walker-esque

    11 Jan 2009 Reply
  • timahall

    Such a nice album! The jump from this to Freaks is so extreme, more so than the jump from Different Class to This Is Hardcore.

    6 Jan 2009 Reply
  • ncrln81

    love it. wishful thinking is perfection.

    22 Oct 2008 Reply
  • slo-mo

    this is my all-time favorite album ever. boats and trains is certainly my favie.

    7 Sep 2007 Reply
  • IAJP

    i absolutely love joking aside. and my lighthouse. in fact, the only one i don't really like is boats & trains...and that's due to it's length! ah well. tip for people who want this album but are having trouble finding's on the more widely available 'on fire' early collection...really good stuff, well worth checking out for nostalgia and general tomfoolery i feel!

    31 May 2007 Reply
  • Kaoru_is_here

    It's actually quite charming. Not their best album by far, but... it's just so pleasant to listen to.

    16 Mar 2007 Reply

Top Listeners