Creation Records
Release date
1 Oct 1991
Running length
20 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Primal Scream - Movin' On Up 3:45 237,753
2 Primal Scream - Slip Inside This House 5:16 110,150
3 Primal Scream - Don't Fight It, Feel It 7:18 97,510
4 Primal Scream - Higher Than the Sun 13:28 134,697
4 Primal Scream - Higher Than the Sun (Higher Than The Orb Mix) 3:36 3,973
5 Primal Scream - Inner Flight 5:26 83,200
6 Primal Scream - Come Together (Terry Farley mix) 4:22 1,518
6 Primal Scream - Come Together 14:10 130,947
7 Primal Scream - Loaded (Andy Weatherall Mix) 6:59 1,400
7 Primal Scream - Loaded 7:01 171,815
8 Primal Scream - Damaged 6:59 79,830
9 Primal Scream - I'm Comin' Down 6:10 70,538
10 Primal Scream featuring Jah Wobble - Higher Than the Sun (A Dub Symphony In Two Parts (featuring Jah Wobble)) 7:37 9
10 Primal Scream - Higher Than the Sun (A Dub Symphony in Two Parts) 7:38 47,622
10 Primal Scream - Higher Than The Sun (A Dub Symphony In Two Parts (featuring Jah Wobble)) 7:37 1,285
11 Primal Scream - Shine Like Stars 3:38 66,417
2 Primal Scream - Stone My Soul 3:01 7,328
3 Primal Scream - Carry Me Home 5:14 9,543
4 Primal Scream - Screamadelica 10:46 8,465

About this album

Screamadelica is a 1991 album by Primal Scream and was their first to be a commercial success. In 1998 Q magazine readers voted it the 27th greatest album of all time.

The album was a massive departure from the band’s early indie rock sound, drawing inspiration from the house music scene (and associated drugs) that was becoming popular at the time of its production. The band enlisted house DJs Andrew Weatherall and Terry Farley on producing duties, although the album also contained a wide range of other influences including gospel and dub.

The album’s title track did not appear on the album itself; the ten minute dance track was also produced by Andrew Weatherall and sung by Denise Johnson. It appears on the Dixie Narco EP released in 1992, and featured in the opening credits of the now rare Screamadelica VHS video tape.

The album includes “Loaded”, which was a top twenty hit single in the UK. Dance DJ Andrew Weatherall began remixing “I’m Losing More than I’ll Ever Have”, from their previous album, and the resulting track disassembled the song, adding a drum loop from an Italian bootleg mix of Edie Brickell’s “What I Am”, a sample of Gillespie singing a line from Robert Johnson’s “Terraplane Blues” and the central introductory sample from the Peter Fonda B-movie The Wild Angels. The single “Movin’ On Up” was the band’s breakthrough hit in the United States, reaching #2 on the Modern Rock Tracks, and also making #28 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks.

The album cover for Screamadelica was among the ten chosen by the Royal Mail for a set of “Classic Album Cover” postage stamps issued in January 2010.

Other releases

Listening Trend

359,945listeners all time
3,474,872scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to or sign up.
  • rockkiller124

    ヽ( ´ ∇ ` )ノ

    16 Apr 2:21pm Reply
  • Ziggomaticv17

    Ecstasy in a nutshell [2]

    29 Mar 10:59am Reply
  • melkmeintogepi

    I like this so much. These days everybody is raving about how fantastic the 90s were (that kind of "90s kids will remember"-shit). When I was a teen in the 00s people looked down on the 90s as the decade of Europop, shitty clothing and Boybands. But when I got more into 90s music and Screamadelica, my view on "cool and not cool" was turned upside down. The 90s were sweet indeed. But people hype them for the wrong reasons it seems.

    7 Nov 2014 Reply
  • Gaffes

    Greatest Scottish album ever recorded.

    2 Sep 2014 Reply
  • ilhammaulana


    15 Aug 2014 Reply
  • pazz_rus

    Best album ever recorded.

    18 Jul 2014 Reply
  • bigbadapplejax

    How could you not love this record?

    12 Jul 2014 Reply
  • torquatotasso

    like it a lot

    11 Apr 2014 Reply
  • luiz_kogut


    30 Mar 2014 Reply
  • JakeyWHFC

    Ecstasy in a nutshell

    21 Mar 2014 Reply
  • peter21

    check out the Classic Album doc about this record on Netflix.

    17 Nov 2013 Reply
  • SteveGeek

    I just found myself listening to this...probably first time in 10 years. Still a work of pure genius! Nothing like it before or since. Period.

    9 Oct 2013 Reply
  • Nochek


    2 Sep 2013 Reply
  • dAdriano


    29 Aug 2013 Reply
  • Nate999

    I don't always take MDMA but when I do, I listen to Screamadelica

    16 Jul 2013 Reply
  • LynxDaftPunk

    Finally remastered in 2011, sounds really good.

    20 Jun 2013 Reply
  • Sosnitskiy

    I don`t like it

    7 May 2013 Reply
  • holypants

    prefer the dub version of vanishing point but love this album aswell and x softsick underbell y carcass of these times hhhmmmmmmmmm ! sweet

    18 Mar 2013 Reply
  • The_SchizoidMan

    Love the cover.

    29 Jan 2013 Reply
  • MDC_Sam

    dunno why I waited so long to get around to hearing this, incredible.

    8 Jan 2013 Reply
  • All 125 shouts

Listening Now

Top Listeners