Fear of a Blank Planet

Roadrunner Records
Release date
23 Jul 2007
Running length
6 tracks
Running time


Everyone’s tags

More tags


    Track     Duration Listeners
1 Fear of a Blank Planet 7:28 142,914
2 My Ashes 5:07 127,046
3 Anesthetize 17:43 132,118
4 Sentimental 5:26 128,188
5 Way Out of Here 7:38 116,716
6 Sleep Together 7:30 111,341

About this album

Fear of a Blank Planet (also Transmission 6.1) is the ninth studio album by British progressive rock band Porcupine Tree which was released on April 16, 2007 in the UK and Europe, and on April 24, 2007 in the United States. Steven Wilson has mentioned that the album’s title is a direct reference to the 1990’s Public Enemy album, Fear of a Black Planet. He explained that race relations were a major issue when it was released and he sees “coming to terms with information technology and…the 21st century” as a modern issue.

The album was written in Tel Aviv and London between January and July of 2006. The promotion of the record included a premiere performance of the songs during the shows of the Arriving Somewhere DVD tour between September and November of 2006, though their titles were not revealed at the time, and a series of listening parties at New York’s Legacy Studios and London’s Abbey Road Studios during January of 2007, where the track titles were finally unveiled. An EP titled Nil Recurring, was released on September 17, 2007 as a continuation to the concept.

Even though it doesn’t include any singles, Fear of a Blank Planet charted in almost all European countries and entered the U.S. Billboard 200 at #59. Allmusic, which gave the album a 4.5 out of 5 score, assures that “While there is no “radio single” on the disc most songs transcend their complex structure and feel as provocative as any traditional rock tune”.

Other releases

Listening Trend

181,426listeners all time
4,835,406scrobbles all time
Recent listeners trend:

Explore more


Leave a comment. Log in to Last.fm or sign up.